Tom Huizenga http://ktep.org en Alaskan Composer Wins Pulitzer For 'Become Ocean' http://ktep.org/post/alaskan-composer-wins-pulitzer-become-ocean <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/120995813/john-luther-adams" target="_blank">John Luther Adams</a>, whose music is inspired by — and sometimes <a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xAk527M-INA">performed in</a> — natural landscapes, has <a href="http://www.pulitzer.org/citation/2014-Music" target="_blank">won the Pulitzer Prize</a> for music for his symphonic work <em>Become Ocean<a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yGIEvUOf-JU"></a></em>. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 22:43:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 38677 at http://ktep.org Alaskan Composer Wins Pulitzer For 'Become Ocean' A Kid Named Carl Stirs Up The Bach Musical Dynasty http://ktep.org/post/kid-named-carl-stirs-bach-musical-dynasty When it comes to musical dynasties, it's tough to top the Bach family. From town fiddlers to court composers, the Bachs dominated German music for seven generations. Today, <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15031897/johann-sebastian-bach" target="_blank">Johann Sebastian</a> towers above all his relatives, but there's another important Bach we shouldn't forget — especially today, on the 300th anniversary of his birth.<p>Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach, C.P.E. Sat, 08 Mar 2014 12:53:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 36256 at http://ktep.org A Kid Named Carl Stirs Up The Bach Musical Dynasty Robert Ashley, Opera's Misunderstood Innovator, Dies At 83 http://ktep.org/post/robert-ashley-operas-misunderstood-innovator-dies-83 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZQBpire6jhw</p> Tue, 04 Mar 2014 17:38:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 35955 at http://ktep.org Robert Ashley, Opera's Misunderstood Innovator, Dies At 83 New Music Shines at Classical Grammy Awards http://ktep.org/post/new-music-shines-classical-grammy-awards <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-aJF5uoU7fI</p> Mon, 27 Jan 2014 16:10:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 33582 at http://ktep.org New Music Shines at Classical Grammy Awards Inspiration Or Embarrassment? Lang Lang And Metallica Teaming Up At Grammys http://ktep.org/post/inspiration-or-embarrassment-lang-lang-and-metallica-teaming-grammys Odd musical mergers in the Grammy Awards telecast are nothing new — remember <a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=24MD-v0IgYA" target="_blank">Paul McCartney, Linkin Park and Jay-Z</a> singing "Yesterday?" Still, when thrash metal band <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=15730259" target="_blank">Metallica</a> and classical pianist <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=17022256" target="_blank">Lang Lang</a> take the stage together Sunday night, it may seem more like a head-scratcher than a clever match.<p>Or will it?<p>Metallica <a href="ht Fri, 24 Jan 2014 13:44:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 33416 at http://ktep.org Inspiration Or Embarrassment? Lang Lang And Metallica Teaming Up At Grammys Cachet And Cash For Rafał Blechacz, Named 2014 Gilmore Artist http://ktep.org/post/cachet-and-cash-rafa-blechacz-named-2014-gilmore-artist Polish pianist <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/16051607/rafal-blechacz" target="_blank">Rafał Blechacz</a>, who at age 20 swept all five top prizes at the 2005 International Chopin Competition in Warsaw, can now add another prestigious award to his collection. Early Wednesday, Blechacz was named the 2014 Gilmore Artist.<p>The Gilmore may not have quite the name recognition as the Chopin Competition, but it has a distinguished cachet of its own, plus a generous $300,000 cash award.<p>Actually, the Gilmore isn't a competition. Named for a Kalamazoo, Mich. Wed, 08 Jan 2014 05:02:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 32334 at http://ktep.org Cachet And Cash For Rafał Blechacz, Named 2014 Gilmore Artist Banjos, Bartók And La Belle Époque: New Classical Albums http://ktep.org/post/banjos-bart-k-and-la-belle-poque-new-classical-albums People ask why I thrive on classical music, and I tell them it's all about discovery. The possibilities for finding incredible music, both old and new, are endless as the oceans. Sun, 08 Sep 2013 21:14:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 24646 at http://ktep.org Banjos, Bartók And La Belle Époque: New Classical Albums Singing And Sandwiches For A Tenor's Centennial http://ktep.org/post/singing-and-sandwiches-tenors-centennial <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dt9Dc_Xpv2Y</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EFZmWdyRjSc</p> Wed, 28 Aug 2013 13:12:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 23914 at http://ktep.org Singing And Sandwiches For A Tenor's Centennial Versatile Opera Star, Director, Teacher Regina Resnik Dies at 90 http://ktep.org/post/versatile-opera-star-director-teacher-regina-resnik-dies-90 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4d1YunTgUzQ</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ipFMt7bPStg</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zA2_jx9qiqc</p> Fri, 09 Aug 2013 21:55:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 22739 at http://ktep.org Versatile Opera Star, Director, Teacher Regina Resnik Dies at 90 Licia Albanese: An Opera Diva Hits 100 http://ktep.org/post/licia-albanese-opera-diva-hits-100 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-nqVbkJ8kvU</p> Mon, 22 Jul 2013 16:44:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 21502 at http://ktep.org Licia Albanese: An Opera Diva Hits 100 Revved-up Vivaldi, Persian Bamboo And Soaring Spirituals: New Classical Albums http://ktep.org/post/revved-vivaldi-persian-bamboo-and-soaring-spirituals-new-classical-albums It's a brave new musical world. Between downloads, iPods, music sharing websites and the good old CD, we have more easy access to the songs and symphonies we love than ever before. In this visit to <em>All Things Considered</em>, host <a href="http://www.npr.org/people/102444338/jacki-lyden" target="_blank">Jacki Lyden</a> and I explore an East meets West mashup in a concerto for Persian ney (bamboo flute) and orchestra, a young composer who treats electronic and acoustic instruments as equals, an opera star who goes back to church and a violinist who plays Vivaldi with delicious abandon. Sun, 30 Jun 2013 09:00:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 19980 at http://ktep.org Revved-up Vivaldi, Persian Bamboo And Soaring Spirituals: New Classical Albums Henri Dutilleux, Leading French Composer, Dies At 97 http://ktep.org/post/henri-dutilleux-leading-french-composer-dies-97 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VyYJOi3X898</p> Wed, 22 May 2013 19:50:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 17387 at http://ktep.org Henri Dutilleux, Leading French Composer, Dies At 97 Vespers, Habaneras And Early Morning Walks: New Classical Albums http://ktep.org/post/vespers-habaneras-and-early-morning-walks-new-classical-albums Robert Frost's famous poem "The Road Not Taken" begins with the line: "Two roads diverged in a yellow wood." Frost's traveler must choose between them. But slide that metaphor over to the world of classical music and you will discover hundreds of paths to explore. Sun, 07 Apr 2013 00:37:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 14281 at http://ktep.org Vespers, Habaneras And Early Morning Walks: New Classical Albums Remembering Risë Stevens, A Star Of Opera And Pop Culture http://ktep.org/post/remembering-ris-stevens-star-opera-and-pop-culture <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pCYHALudt1k</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JYHUsYQcYDw</p> Thu, 21 Mar 2013 22:36:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga & Anastasia Tsioulcas 13222 at http://ktep.org Remembering Risë Stevens, A Star Of Opera And Pop Culture The Operatic Potential Of DSK, A Modern Don Giovanni http://ktep.org/post/operatic-potential-dsk-modern-don-giovanni If I wrote operas, my next work would be called <em>DSKNY</em>. That's a snazzy abbreviation for <em>Dominique Strauss-Kahn New York</em>. Tue, 26 Feb 2013 21:45:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 11644 at http://ktep.org The Operatic Potential Of DSK, A Modern Don Giovanni Fond Farewells: Classical Musicians We Lost in 2012 http://ktep.org/post/fond-farewells-classical-musicians-we-lost-2012 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p-3e8G40TyQ</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IIX_XVji9UA</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sgVEHITy-9U</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WYzPqx63LKs</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i9XatkNa0ZA</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UbPXZ-d8uf4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kUonvDMNFj4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sebIvdCHcCE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yZm2NsZnJHE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lSLGGIeCw6I</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hGeCjq3uYX0</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AQNjxrCsdNM</p> Mon, 31 Dec 2012 21:13:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga & Anastasia Tsioulcas 7985 at http://ktep.org Fond Farewells: Classical Musicians We Lost in 2012 Whatever Happened To The Classical Christmas Album? http://ktep.org/post/what-ever-happened-classical-christmas-album <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rr-csOGecGc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NKvoygXsRV4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NH4rSCabUWg</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ONknTGUckKc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=39h3VVfOoW0</p> Mon, 24 Dec 2012 20:03:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 7652 at http://ktep.org Whatever Happened To The Classical Christmas Album? Outspoken Russian Diva And Muse Galina Vishnevskaya Dies At 86 http://ktep.org/post/outspoken-russian-diva-and-muse-galina-vishnevskaya-dies-86 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c0QESblIaBU</p> Tue, 11 Dec 2012 20:38:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 6839 at http://ktep.org Outspoken Russian Diva And Muse Galina Vishnevskaya Dies At 86 Soprano Lisa Della Casa, Strauss And Mozart Specialist, Dies At 93 http://ktep.org/post/soprano-lisa-della-casa-strauss-and-mozart-specialist-dies-93 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hGeCjq3uYX0</p> Tue, 11 Dec 2012 16:12:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 6819 at http://ktep.org Soprano Lisa Della Casa, Strauss And Mozart Specialist, Dies At 93 A Bald Mezzo And Three Shades Of Violin: Classical Favorites From 2012 http://ktep.org/post/bald-mezzo-and-three-shades-violin-classical-favorites-2012 From mezzo-soprano <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15221692/cecilia-bartoli" target="_blank">Cecilia Bartoli</a>'s ambitious revival of the early Baroque composer Agostino Stefani (and yes, she's got another outrageous album cover) to three very different roles for the violin, here's a clutch of classical albums I returned to again and again this year for sheer delight and aural inspiration. Bartoli lavishes extravagant attention on the music of a fascinating but forgotten link in the history of opera. Sun, 09 Dec 2012 20:04:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 6715 at http://ktep.org A Bald Mezzo And Three Shades Of Violin: Classical Favorites From 2012 Elliott Carter, Giant Of American Music, Dies At 103 http://ktep.org/post/elliott-carter-giant-american-music-dies-103 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1stGn4NA-tU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EwbPwq3-PAs</p> Tue, 06 Nov 2012 20:50:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 4627 at http://ktep.org 'Nixon In China': An American Opera Inches Toward Classic At 25 http://ktep.org/post/nixon-china-american-opera-inches-toward-classic-25 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AoLk7VneYLY</p> Mon, 22 Oct 2012 21:00:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 3567 at http://ktep.org 'Nixon In China': An American Opera Inches Toward Classic At 25 Cecilia Bartoli's Latest 'Mission' Rediscovers Agostino Steffani http://ktep.org/post/cecilia-bartolis-latest-mission-rediscovers-agostino-steffani <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15221692/cecilia-bartoli" target="_blank">Cecilia Bartoli</a> has a passion for musical archaeology: "I am the Indiana Jones of classical," she says jokingly to <em>All Things Considered</em> host Robert Siegel.<p>Bartoli rummages through music history to uncover forgotten opera composers deserving of her detailed and dramatic performances. Her new album, <em>Mission</em>, introduces her most recent "find," the late-17th-century Italian Agostino Steffani.<p>Bartoli has also developed a taste for provocative album covers. Mon, 24 Sep 2012 21:33:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 1838 at http://ktep.org Cecilia Bartoli's Latest 'Mission' Rediscovers Agostino Steffani