KTEP - El Paso, Texas

Terence Blanchard Quintet, Live In Concert: Newport Jazz 2013

Aug 4, 2013
Originally published on June 20, 2014 8:45 am

As a whole, Terence Blanchard's high-functioning quintet reliably serves up sleek modernism in the form of post-bop jazz. Individually, its members are also becoming great composers: Blanchard's new album, Magnetic, features tunes from everyone in the band. The new repertoire sees Blanchard cop some electric feels for his trumpet. And a guest turn from guitarist Lionel Loueke, who also appears on the album, makes this band a rare six-person quintet.


  • Terence Blanchard, trumpet
  • Brice Winston, tenor saxophone
  • Fabian Almazan, piano
  • Joshua Crumbly, bass
  • Kendrick Scott, drums
  • Lionel Loueke, guitar

Set List

  • "Pet Step Sitters Theme Song" (Fabian Almazan)
  • "Hallucinations" (Terence Blanchard)
  • "Autumn Leaves" (Joseph Kosma)
  • "Footprints" (Wayne Shorter) (feat. Herbie Hancock, piano)
Copyright 2014 WBGO-FM. To see more, visit http://www.wbgo.org.