Music News http://ktep.org en In New Mexico, A Brotherhood Of Ancient Hymns http://ktep.org/post/new-mexico-brotherhood-ancient-hymns <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fiicqLsPyEY</p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 20:08:00 +0000 John Burnett 38942 at http://ktep.org Salsa Legend Cheo Feliciano Dies http://ktep.org/post/salsa-legend-cheo-feliciano-dies Three days of mourning have been declared in Puerto Rico following the death of salsa great Cheo Feliciano in a car accident there early Thursday. The singer was 78. "His music embodied the rhythm of Puerto Ricans living in New York City," U.S. Rep. Nydia Velazquez (D-NY) said in a statement, "and his lyrics helped tell our collective story."<p>José Luis Feliciano Vega was born in 1935 to a working class family in the southern Puerto Rican city of Ponce. At 17 the family joined the massive Puerto Rican diaspora of the 1950s, and moved to New York. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 19:24:00 +0000 Jasmine Garsd 38944 at http://ktep.org Salsa Legend Cheo Feliciano Dies Why Metallica's Bassist Is Producing A Jazz Documentary http://ktep.org/post/why-metallicas-bassist-producing-jazz-documentary It seems an unlikely match.<p>In one corner, you have <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15730259/metallica" target="_blank">Metallica</a>'s Robert Trujillo. The most popular heavy metal bassist alive, he prowls beast-like across arena stages, rumbling guts with the low B on the 5-string instrument he slings to one side like a battle ax.<p>In the other, there's the cult favorite fretless player <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/14873307/jaco-pastorius" target="_blank">Jaco Pastorius</a>. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 19:12:00 +0000 Adam Ragusea 38943 at http://ktep.org Why Metallica's Bassist Is Producing A Jazz Documentary God, Drugs And Lizard Aliens: Yep, It's Country Music http://ktep.org/post/god-drugs-and-lizard-aliens-yep-its-country-music <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LWx6csgGkg4</p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 16:07:00 +0000 Ann Powers 38846 at http://ktep.org God, Drugs And Lizard Aliens: Yep, It's Country Music Pop Stars Are Sippin' On Patron, And Teens Are Bingeing http://ktep.org/post/pop-stars-are-sippin-patron-and-teens-are-bingeing Ke$ha says that to start the day she'll brush her teeth with a bottle of Jack Daniel's whiskey. Nicki Minaj likes to "have a drink, have a clink" of Bud Light. And the party-rockin' hip-hop duo LMFAO like Ciroc, and they love Patron. "Shots, shots, shots, shots everybody!"<p>All that name-checking of alcohol brands encourages teens to drink, researchers say. Wed, 09 Apr 2014 19:57:00 +0000 editor 38335 at http://ktep.org Pop Stars Are Sippin' On Patron, And Teens Are Bingeing Denied A Stage, She Sang For A Nation http://ktep.org/post/denied-stage-she-sang-nation <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mAONYTMf2pk</p> Wed, 09 Apr 2014 07:34:00 +0000 Susan Stamberg 38294 at http://ktep.org Denied A Stage, She Sang For A Nation Broadway Director Kenny Leon Opens Theater Doors To New Audiences http://ktep.org/post/broadway-director-kenny-leon-opens-theater-doors-new-audiences Stage director Kenny Leon is one of the most sought-after creative talents on Broadway today, even if he isn't a household name. He's guided Denzel Washington and Viola Davis to Tony Awards in a Tony-winning revival of August Wilson's <em>Fences</em>, he directed Samuel L. Jackson and Angela Bassett in <em>The Mountaintop</em> and he's got two Broadway shows opening within three months of each other.<p>You've got to have an ego, to be a director, sitting in rehearsal rooms with talented, opinionated actors. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 07:42:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 38214 at http://ktep.org Broadway Director Kenny Leon Opens Theater Doors To New Audiences Wayne Henderson, Jazz Crusaders Co-Founder, Dies http://ktep.org/post/wayne-henderson-jazz-crusaders-co-founder-dies Wayne Henderson, trombonist and co-founding member of the popular jazz-funk band The Jazz Crusaders (later known as The Crusaders), died Friday, April 4, in Culver City, Calif. The cause of death was heart failure, according to The Crusaders' manager. Henderson was 74.<p>Along with fellow Houston musicians Joe Sample (piano), Wilton Felder (tenor saxophone) and Stix Hooper (drums), Henderson moved to Southern California and rebranded the group The Jazz Crusaders. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 21:18:00 +0000 Patrick Jarenwattananon 38206 at http://ktep.org Wayne Henderson, Jazz Crusaders Co-Founder, Dies Two Leads, Two Deaths In 18 Hours http://ktep.org/post/two-leads-two-deaths-18-hours Over the weekend, soprano Kristine Opolais sang her heart out — and died twice.<p>Friday evening she had sung the lead in <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/90063951/giacomo-puccini" target="_blank">Puccini</a>'s <em>Madama Butterfly</em>. It was her debut in that role at the Metropolitan Opera in New York. It was a big deal. Opolais was so excited about it that she stayed up until five the next morning.<p>At 7:30 Saturday morning, she got a call from Peter Gelb, the general manager of the Met. Groggy-voiced, Opolais said hello, and after a moment it became clear what was happening. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 20:45:00 +0000 NPR Staff 38198 at http://ktep.org Two Leads, Two Deaths In 18 Hours Musicians, Take Note: Your Instrument May Be Contraband http://ktep.org/post/musicians-take-note-your-instrument-may-be-contraband New Obama administration rules aimed at protecting African elephants are causing widespread anxiety in the music world. From country to classical, working musicians say the policy will make them think twice about touring abroad.<p>The proposed regulations would place a near-total ban on anything made with ivory moving in and out of the U.S.<p>Says Craig Hoover, who heads up the Wildlife Trade and Conservation Branch of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service: "The reason for that is ... Mon, 07 Apr 2014 20:44:00 +0000 Adam Ragusea 38197 at http://ktep.org Musicians, Take Note: Your Instrument May Be Contraband David Lamb Of Folk Duo Brown Bird Dies At 35 http://ktep.org/post/david-lamb-folk-duo-brown-bird-dies-35 David Lamb, who sang in the folk duo Brown Bird, died Saturday at Memorial Hospital in Providence, R.I., due to complications from leukemia. Lamb started Brown Bird as a solo project in 2003 and stayed with the band in various formations until it settled into its final lineup, as a duo, with his partner MorganEve Swain. Lamb was diagnosed with leukemia last year and received a bone-marrow transplant in September, but he suffered a relapse last month. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 15:22:00 +0000 Jacob Ganz 38175 at http://ktep.org David Lamb Of Folk Duo Brown Bird Dies At 35 ABBA's Cheesy Start Was More Than Its 'Waterloo' http://ktep.org/post/abbas-cheesy-start-was-more-its-waterloo Transcript <p>SCOTT SIMON, HOST: <p>Eurovision attracts more viewers than the Super Bowl. And yet, a lot of Americans have scarcely heard of it. Probably more people know that BJ Leiderman does our theme music. Winners of this pan-European song contest generally become one-hit wonders, if even that, and even more rarely do they make a name for themselves over here. But Sidsel Overgaard reports there have been a few exceptions. Sat, 05 Apr 2014 11:52:00 +0000 editor 38093 at http://ktep.org Puerto Rico's Most-Loved And Most-Hated Band http://ktep.org/post/puerto-ricos-most-loved-and-most-hated-band The bad boys of Puerto Rico have grown up. Step brothers Rene Perez Joglar and Eduardo Cabra of Calle 13 have a new album that takes a more thoughtful route to deliver their message. Sat, 05 Apr 2014 11:52:00 +0000 editor 38083 at http://ktep.org We've Never Stopped Thinking About Kurt Cobain http://ktep.org/post/weve-never-stopped-thinking-about-kurt-cobain Kurt Cobain died 20 years ago today. It's hardly news. Sat, 05 Apr 2014 09:03:00 +0000 Jacob Ganz 38076 at http://ktep.org Make Peace With Pop: 6 Songs That Prove Pop Gets Along With Everyone http://ktep.org/post/make-peace-pop-six-songs-prove-pop-gets-along-everyone <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ShSDMPlX8No</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ou5T1SeGhOo</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DBr5FPIL8UU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gtATrfNQJLU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EzoazPPC7b8</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=36mCEZzzQ3o</p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 21:34:00 +0000 Ann Powers 38063 at http://ktep.org Hip-Hop Academy: Inside A Beatmaker's Harvard Class http://ktep.org/post/hip-hop-academy-inside-beatmakers-harvard-class <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=612EqXJfOhE</p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 07:34:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 37999 at http://ktep.org Hip-Hop Academy: Inside A Beatmaker's Harvard Class Where Love Lives: Frankie Knuckles And The Dance Floor http://ktep.org/post/where-love-lives-frankie-knuckles-and-dance-floor <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sYP9F-kL8CM</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jnxhvp-7a2U</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GSkr53xfFwg</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HLjkpN6LHFY</p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 14:42:00 +0000 Barry Walters 37870 at http://ktep.org Where Love Lives: Frankie Knuckles And The Dance Floor On The Auction Block: The Stradivarius Of Guitars http://ktep.org/post/auction-block-stradivarius-guitars <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNrLvKJnpfI</p> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 19:25:00 +0000 Margot Adler 37819 at http://ktep.org On The Auction Block: The Stradivarius Of Guitars From Love To Murder To UFOs, A Dark 'Serenade' To Kansas http://ktep.org/post/love-murder-ufos-dark-serenade-kansas "Nashville is where you go to make country music," Chuck Mead says. "There's a certain song vibration down here. There's a whole songwriting culture and playing culture that really doesn't exist outside of New York, or Los Angeles or Chicago."<p>Mead arrived in Nashville 20 years ago and fit right in: He co-founded the Grammy-nominated alt-country group BR549, and has made his name as a singer, songwriter and musician in his own right. His latest album, however, is all about his home state of Kansas. Sat, 29 Mar 2014 11:59:00 +0000 editor 37628 at http://ktep.org From Love To Murder To UFOs, A Dark 'Serenade' To Kansas 'A Love Supreme' Comes Alive In Unearthed Photos http://ktep.org/post/love-supreme-comes-alive-unearthed-photos Whenever photographer Chuck Stewart was hired by a record company to document a recording session, he would shoot during the rehearsal takes, playback and downtime. The company would take what it needed, the remainder likely never to be developed, much less published. After decades in the photography business, and thousands of album covers to his name, he's amassed a lot of negatives.<p>Recently, his son David was browsing through his archives when he found six undeveloped rolls of film from December 1964, 50 years ago. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 15:34:00 +0000 Patrick Jarenwattananon 37569 at http://ktep.org 'A Love Supreme' Comes Alive In Unearthed Photos First Listen: Yasmine Hamdan's 'Ya Nass' http://ktep.org/post/first-listen-yasmine-hamdans-ya-nass Transcript <p>LINDA WERTHEIMER, HOST: <p>An album out this week is drawing international attention to a hidden gem of the indie Arab music scene, Lebanese singer-songwriter Yasmine Hamdan. Her second album is called "Ya Nass." It showcases her hypnotic phrasing and modern take on traditional Middle Eastern sounds. And it's caught the ears of cultural taste-makers worldwide, from filmmaker Jim Jarmusch to NPR's Bob Boilen and Anastasia Tsioulcas.<p>ANASTASIA TSIOULCAS: She's super sleek, super modern. She's got the style that's backed by synths and drums and guitars. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 09:10:00 +0000 editor 37395 at http://ktep.org Dave Brockie, GWAR's Oderus Urungus, Dies At 50 http://ktep.org/post/dave-brockie-gwars-oderus-urungus-dies-50 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dbnm-0r3suM</p> Mon, 24 Mar 2014 17:54:00 +0000 Adrien Begrand 37277 at http://ktep.org Dave Brockie, GWAR's Oderus Urungus, Dies At 50 Lost Album Gives Voice To A Johnny Cash In Recovery http://ktep.org/post/portrait-johnny-cash-recovery <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E8Rqe63ZZuo</p> Sun, 23 Mar 2014 09:20:00 +0000 editor 37213 at http://ktep.org Lost Album Gives Voice To A Johnny Cash In Recovery For Kelis, Music Is Back On The Menu http://ktep.org/post/kelis-music-back-menu Kelis Rogers has made a career of reinventing herself. When the R&B singer, whose "<a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pGL2rytTraA&feature=kp" target="_blank">Milkshake</a>" made her an international pop star in 2003, took the stage last week at SXSW in Austin, Texas, it marked her first live show in the United States in years. Kelis herself insists she never went away (she's continued to tour in Europe and Asia), but she did make a big career change after releasing her last album in 2006: She went to cooking school.<p>Kelis returns to music a certified <em>saucier</em>. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 21:02:00 +0000 NPR Staff 37151 at http://ktep.org For Kelis, Music Is Back On The Menu With 10 Songs Of Silence, Band Puts Free Tour On Spotify's Tab http://ktep.org/post/ten-songs-silence-band-puts-free-tour-spotifys-tab <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KXvncV79LXk</p> Wed, 19 Mar 2014 20:27:00 +0000 Audie Cornish 36997 at http://ktep.org 5 Dance Moves We Learned At SXSW 2014 In GIFs http://ktep.org/post/5-dance-moves-we-learned-sxsw-2014-gifs Remember when you were little and you relied on friends or music videos to learn the latest dance moves? You couldn't rewind MTV to break down the steps, and you might look a fool for sashaying left instead of right, or whatnot. This is the beauty of the GIF, a motion suspended in looped animation that allows you all the time in the world to get that shimmy down. <a href="http://www.npr.org/series/sxsw/">SXSW</a> was full of crazy dance moves and we had Adam Kissick capture five worth emulating. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 16:27:00 +0000 editor 36896 at http://ktep.org 5 Dance Moves We Learned At SXSW 2014 In GIFs Scott Asheton, Drummer For The Stooges, Dies At 64 http://ktep.org/post/scott-asheton-drummer-stooges-dies-64 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WRuN2ayttsY</p> Mon, 17 Mar 2014 21:52:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 36862 at http://ktep.org Scott Asheton, Drummer For The Stooges, Dies At 64 What Do Jay Z And Shakespeare Have In Common? Swagger http://ktep.org/post/what-do-jay-z-and-shakespeare-have-common-swagger "No one on the corner has swagga like us," sang rapper M.I.A. in her global hit "Paper Planes." The song was later sampled by T.I. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 20:30:00 +0000 Lakshmi Gandhi 36855 at http://ktep.org What Do Jay Z And Shakespeare Have In Common? Swagger SXSW 2014 In Pictures http://ktep.org/post/sxsw-2014-pictures South by Southwest 2014 is a wrap, and it's hard to quite comprehend how much was packed into its five days. Which is why we've put together a handy guide to a small sampling of the massive quantity of music we consumed in Austin last week.<p>Start with a few of the 97 photos from the annual music festival. Sample <a href="http://www.npr.org/event/music/285775329/sxsw-2014-kelis-live-in-concert" target="_blank">video from Kelis' set</a> at our SXSW showcase. Take a listen to the interviews and podcasts recorded live on Austin's streets in the wee hours of the morning. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 18:44:00 +0000 editor 36849 at http://ktep.org SXSW 2014 In Pictures How Sweet It Is To Be Loved By You: The BeyHive http://ktep.org/post/how-sweet-it-be-loved-you-beyhive Now that she is back on the road, now that the Internet is again awash in pictures of her sweating on stage in Glasgow, running through sold-out crowds in London in costume, it seems as good a time as any to talk about what for many young women was the most important big live show of the past two years — Beyoncé's "The Mrs. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 14:38:00 +0000 Rachel Kaadzi Ghansah 36816 at http://ktep.org How Sweet It Is To Be Loved By You: The BeyHive