Mandalit del Barco http://ktep.org en Writer Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Who Gave Voice To Latin America, Dies http://ktep.org/post/writer-gabriel-garcia-marquez-who-gave-voice-latin-america-dies Latin American author Gabriel Garcia Marquez, who won the Nobel Prize in literature in 1982, died Thursday. He was 87. Garcia Marquez, the master of a style known as magic realism, was and remains Latin America's best-known writer.<p>His novels were filled with miraculous and enchanting events and characters; love and madness; wars, politics, dreams and death. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 21:28:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 38873 at http://ktep.org Writer Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Who Gave Voice To Latin America, Dies Sony Pictures To Lay Off Interactive Group http://ktep.org/post/sony-pictures-lay-interactive-group Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>NPR's business news starts with Hollywood layoffs.<p>Sony has notified California's Labor Board that come June it will lay off more than 200 employees at its movie and television studios.<p>NPR's Mandalit del Barco reports this is happening in a film industry that's facing across the board cost cutting.<p>MANDALIT DEL BARCO, BYLINE: Sony Pictures Entertainment will reportedly lay off its entire interactive marketing team responsible for online movie promos like this.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF MOVIE PROMO)<p>UNIDENTIFIED MAN: Officials searching for answers as to wh Wed, 19 Mar 2014 09:01:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 36945 at http://ktep.org New Academy President Pushes For More Diverse Voting Members http://ktep.org/post/new-academy-president-pushes-more-diverse-voting-members For the first time, this year's best director Oscar could go to a Mexican (Alfonso Cuaron, for <em>Gravity</em>) or a black Brit (Steve McQueen, for <em>12 Years a Slave</em>). That film's lead actor, Chiwetel Ejiofor, is also in the running for an award; so is his Kenyan co-star Lupita Nyong'o, who was born in Mexico. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 22:59:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 35681 at http://ktep.org New Academy President Pushes For More Diverse Voting Members Alice Herz-Sommer, Pianist And Holocaust Survivor, Dies At 110 http://ktep.org/post/alice-herz-sommer-pianist-and-holocaust-survivor-dies-110 Renowned concert pianist Alice Herz-Sommer, once thought to be the oldest living Holocaust survivor, has died at age 110. Her story is told in the Oscar-nominated film, The Lady in Number 6. Mon, 24 Feb 2014 21:20:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 35430 at http://ktep.org How The Organization Behind The Grammys Spends The Other 364 Days http://ktep.org/post/how-organization-behind-grammys-spends-other-364-days This Sunday's Grammy Awards ceremony is the annual big-ticket item for the National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences. More than 28 million people around the world tuned in to watch the concert show last year. And this year's telecast is once again being touted as the most complicated — and expensive — production on TV.<p>CBS has aired the Grammys for more than 40 years, and has an agreement with The Recording Academy to broadcast the live event annually until the year 2021. Fri, 24 Jan 2014 23:04:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 33460 at http://ktep.org How The Organization Behind The Grammys Spends The Other 364 Days DirecTV: Customers Balked At Weather Channel's Reality Shows http://ktep.org/post/directv-customers-balked-weather-channels-realtiy-shows Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>This next story began as pretty much your standard contract dispute. Fri, 17 Jan 2014 09:51:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 32969 at http://ktep.org Sunday Assembly: A Church For The Godless Picks Up Steam http://ktep.org/post/sunday-assembly-church-godless-picks-steam It sometimes <em>feels</em> like church in the auditorium of the Professional Musicians union in Hollywood. It's a Sunday morning, and hundreds of people are gathered to meditate, sing and listen to inspirational poetry and stories.<p>But then the live band starts up — performing songs by the Beatles, the Rolling Stones and Jerry Lee Lewis. Tue, 07 Jan 2014 07:57:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 32264 at http://ktep.org Sunday Assembly: A Church For The Godless Picks Up Steam Fielder Offers Absurd Marketing Advice On Comedy Central http://ktep.org/post/fielding-offers-absurd-marketing-advice-comedy-central Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Let's hear now about a new reality show featuring a mild-mannered Canadian who gives outlandish advice to companies looking to up their game. Thu, 02 Jan 2014 10:37:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 31980 at http://ktep.org Drummer Chico Hamilton, West Coast Jazz Pioneer, Dies http://ktep.org/post/drummer-chico-hamilton-west-coast-jazz-mainstay-dies <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZNaSZmKL65I</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uXULG-UKVq8</p> Tue, 26 Nov 2013 22:29:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 29785 at http://ktep.org Drummer Chico Hamilton, West Coast Jazz Pioneer, Dies AK-47s, Accordions And Angels Of Death: Narcocorridos Hit The Big Screen http://ktep.org/post/ak-47s-accordions-and-angels-death-narcocorridos-hit-big-screen <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UaJ_hru9Qk4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OCNhQxWXkcw</p> Tue, 26 Nov 2013 07:03:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 29708 at http://ktep.org AK-47s, Accordions And Angels Of Death: Narcocorridos Hit The Big Screen Comcast Deal Puts New Minority-Run Channels In Play http://ktep.org/post/comcast-deal-puts-new-minority-run-channels-play Rapper and producer Sean "Diddy" Combs, director Robert Rodriguez, and basketball legend Magic Johnson each now has his own new cable TV networks. Their channels were part of a merger deal Comcast made with the FCC to give a shot to new networks owned by African Americans, Latinos and others.<p>Last month, Combs threw on his classic Puff Daddy alias to welcome millennial viewers to his new music network, Revolt.<p>"This is really happening, people," the rapper said at the launch. "A boy from Harlem is really standing on a stoop in Brooklyn launching a network worldwide. Tue, 12 Nov 2013 08:08:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 28816 at http://ktep.org Comcast Deal Puts New Minority-Run Channels In Play Canada Takes Cable A La Carte, But Don't Expect U.S. To Follow http://ktep.org/post/canada-takes-cable-la-carte-dont-expect-us-follow Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>If you want to watch MTV, you have to pay for ESPN, even if you don't want to watch sports, and a lot of cable customers don't like it. In the cable TV business, it's called bundling. Now, the government of Canada is requiring cable companies to take those bundles apart. Mon, 21 Oct 2013 09:03:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 27415 at http://ktep.org 1 In 7 American Adults Don't Go Online http://ktep.org/post/1-7-american-adults-dont-go-online Fifteen percent of Americans don't use the Internet, according to a survey by the Pew Research Center. Most of these "offline adults" are 65 years old or older, many live in rural areas and have incomes lower than $30,000 a year. Thu, 26 Sep 2013 09:06:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 25798 at http://ktep.org East LA Homegirl Goes Hollywood http://ktep.org/post/east-la-homegirl-goes-hollywood Evangeline Ordaz is no ordinary Hollywood show runner. When she's not teaching constitutional law or rehabbing historic buildings, she's writing for a racy soap opera about <a href="http://eastloshigh.com/" target="_blank">Latino teens in East Los Angeles</a>. <em>East Los High</em> was a big summer success for the TV-on-demand website Hulu, and much of the credit for keeping the show real goes to its multitalented main writer.<p>Ordaz was born and bred in East Los Angeles — East Los, as it's known. Fri, 13 Sep 2013 21:05:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 25025 at http://ktep.org East LA Homegirl Goes Hollywood Sound Pioneer Ray Dolby Dies At 80 http://ktep.org/post/sound-poineer-ray-dolby-dies-80 Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Ray Dolby, whose inventions revolutionized the way audiences listen to entertainment, has died. Fri, 13 Sep 2013 08:58:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 24965 at http://ktep.org Tina Brown To Leave The Daily Beast http://ktep.org/post/tina-brown-leave-daily-beast Celebrity editor Tina Brown announced Wednesday that she's leaving The Daily Beast to launch her own media company. She has been a regular guest on <em>Morning Edition</em>. Brown, 59, plans to produce live forums on news topics.<p>Brown has edited some of the most prestigious publications: <em>Vanity Fair</em>, <em>The New Yorker</em> and <em>Tattler</em>. Five years ago, she helped found The Daily Beast — a news and opinion website. Thu, 12 Sep 2013 05:36:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 24872 at http://ktep.org Tina Brown To Leave The Daily Beast New HIV Cases Spotlight Adult Film Industry's Testing System http://ktep.org/post/hiv-outbreak-spotlights-adult-film-industrys-testing-system Adult film production in California is now suspended after a number of performers tested positive for HIV. Four cases have been reported in the past few months, including one on Monday.<p>If ever there was an "I told you so moment" for the AIDS Healthcare Foundation, it's now. The organization has been campaigning for condoms to be mandatory during porn shoots. Tue, 10 Sep 2013 22:05:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 24785 at http://ktep.org New HIV Cases Spotlight Adult Film Industry's Testing System Time Warner Cable Customers Miss Out On CBS http://ktep.org/post/time-warner-cable-customers-miss-out-cbs For two weeks, customers with Time Warner Cable in New York, Los Angeles and Dallas have been unable to watch CBS with their cable box. Time Warner and CBS disagree over how much the cable company should be paying the television network for transmitting its shows. Fri, 16 Aug 2013 09:45:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 23140 at http://ktep.org In 'Alphabet' Mysteries, 'S' Is Really For Santa Barbara http://ktep.org/post/alphabet-mysteries-s-really-santa-barbara Novelist Sue Grafton is a real hoot. She's just as likely to talk, in that native Kentucky drawl of hers, about her prized silver-coin mint julep cups as about a juicy murder mystery. But she does have a crime writer's imagination.<p>"I always say to people, 'Don't cross me, OK? Because you will be so sorry,'" she says. "'I have ways to kill you you ain't even thought of yet.'"<p>Grafton is famous for her "Alphabet" mystery series. Thu, 15 Aug 2013 06:58:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 23048 at http://ktep.org In 'Alphabet' Mysteries, 'S' Is Really For Santa Barbara Karen Black, Strange And Lovely, And Always Game http://ktep.org/post/karen-black-strange-and-lovely-and-always-game <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SDAdzb9IeGU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u791lVpjmHQ</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FmcEI1Mb22k</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1RAxCWU4of0</p> Fri, 09 Aug 2013 19:53:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 22720 at http://ktep.org Karen Black, Strange And Lovely, And Always Game In The Summer, Univision Is Numero Uno http://ktep.org/post/summer-univision-numero-uno For three consecutive weeks this summer, Spanish-language TV network Univision won the prime-time ratings among young adult viewers. The network is bragging about its prime-time ratings domination with full-page ads in the <em>LA Times</em>, <em>New York Times</em> and <em>Wall Street Journal</em>. Its English-language video exclaims: "For the first time ever, Univision is now the number one network in any language."<p>Univision has topped the ratings before in the summer, but never for this long. For an unprecedented three weeks, it scored with viewers aged 18 to 49. Tue, 23 Jul 2013 07:01:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 21536 at http://ktep.org In The Summer, Univision Is Numero Uno Does Disney's Tonto Reinforce Stereotypes Or Overcome Them? http://ktep.org/post/does-disneys-tonto-reinforce-stereotypes-or-overcome-them The Lone Ranger has long been a fictional hero, taming the Wild West with his trusty Indian guide, Tonto. The faithful companion helps the white man fight bad guys, and does so speaking in pidgin English.<p>Tonto made his first appearance on the radio in the 1930s, voiced by a non-Native American actor, John Todd. Tue, 02 Jul 2013 08:05:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 20083 at http://ktep.org Does Disney's Tonto Reinforce Stereotypes Or Overcome Them? Telemundo's 'La Voz' Hands Latino Kids The Mic http://ktep.org/post/telemundos-la-voz-hands-latino-kids-mic <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kgEnL5LSqDw</p> Thu, 27 Jun 2013 00:00:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 19734 at http://ktep.org Telemundo's 'La Voz' Hands Latino Kids The Mic Spotlighting Background Singers In 'Twenty Feet From Stardom' http://ktep.org/post/background-singers-hit-center-stage-twenty-feet-stardom <em>Twenty Feet from Stardom</em>, filmmaker Morgan Neville's new documentary, is a reminder that most of pop music's catchiest hooks, riffs and refrains were sung by voices harmonizing in the background. Tue, 11 Jun 2013 07:16:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 18679 at http://ktep.org Spotlighting Background Singers In 'Twenty Feet From Stardom' The Doors' Keyboard Counterpoint Goes Silent: Remembering Ray Manzarek http://ktep.org/post/doors-keyboard-counterpoint-goes-silent-remembering-ray-manzarek <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CvVCCMG-JoQ</p> Tue, 21 May 2013 07:15:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 17242 at http://ktep.org The Doors' Keyboard Counterpoint Goes Silent: Remembering Ray Manzarek Nostalgia For Sale As Captain Kangaroo's Pals Are Auctioned Off http://ktep.org/post/nostalgia-sale-captain-kangaroos-pals-are-auctioned The classic children's show <em>Captain Kangaroo</em> aired on TV for nearly 30 years, starting in 1955. After its creator and star, Bob Keeshan, died in 2004, his estate donated a few of his beloved hand puppets to the Smithsonian.<p>But if you're like me and grew up in the 1960s and '70s, you have hazy memories of Captain Kangaroo telling stories, drawing pictures and palling around with a whole cast of sidekicks, including the bespectacled Mr. Bunny Rabbit, a dancing bear, farmhand Mr. Mon, 20 May 2013 07:06:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 17158 at http://ktep.org Nostalgia For Sale As Captain Kangaroo's Pals Are Auctioned Off Draco Rosa: A Pop Survivor Returns From The Brink, With Friends http://ktep.org/post/draco-rosa-pop-survivor-returns-brink-friends <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PHRjWauwpvE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l3UVw3a7qIQ</p> Sat, 18 May 2013 16:03:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 17113 at http://ktep.org Draco Rosa: A Pop Survivor Returns From The Brink, With Friends How Does NBC Plan To Climb Back Up Rating's Ladder? http://ktep.org/post/how-does-nbc-plan-climb-back-ratings-ladder NBC was once must-see TV. Now, the network's ratings have slipped behind Spanish Language TV. What happened to this once mighty TV network? Fri, 10 May 2013 10:12:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 16530 at http://ktep.org A Tip Of The Mouse Ears To Annette Funicello, 1942-2013 http://ktep.org/post/tip-mouse-ears-annette-funicello-1942-2013 Now it's time to say goodbye to former Mouseketeer Annette Funicello. Mon, 08 Apr 2013 21:59:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 14370 at http://ktep.org A Tip Of The Mouse Ears To Annette Funicello, 1942-2013 Visual Effects Firms Miss Out On A Film's Success http://ktep.org/post/visual-effects-firms-miss-out-films-success Hollywood studios are demanding more and more visual effects to make blockbuster films. But the artists who create this movie magic are protesting that they and their entire industry are in deep financial trouble. Even the most celebrated visual-effects companies face the risk of going under, and there are calls to revamp the way they do business.<p>The visual-effects community is still buzzing about Oscars night, when <em>Life of Pi</em> won four Academy Awards, including one for visual effects. Tue, 19 Mar 2013 08:43:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 13009 at http://ktep.org Visual Effects Firms Miss Out On A Film's Success