Mandalit del Barco http://ktep.org en Vroom, Vroom, Hmmmm: Motorcycles As Literary Metaphor http://ktep.org/post/vroom-vroom-hmmmm-motorcycles-literary-metaphor Motorcycles provide an open road for literature — literally and figuratively. They're sometimes the dramatic device writers use to talk about many things: adventure, rebellion, even inner peace. But motorcycles aren't just a metaphor at Bartel's Harley-Davidson shop in Marina Del Rey, Calif. They're loud and shiny and very real.<p>This is where we find Jeff Bragg, who claims he has been riding since he was 3. He reads an excerpt from Hunter S. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 07:06:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 43918 at http://ktep.org Vroom, Vroom, Hmmmm: Motorcycles As Literary Metaphor Amazon Relents: Begins Selling Rowling's 'Silkworm' http://ktep.org/post/amazon-relents-begins-selling-rowlings-silkworm J.K. Rowling's new book, The Silkworm, has been caught up in Amazon's ongoing fight with publisher Hachette Book Group. Amazon has been delaying delivery on more than 5,000 of Hachette's titles Mon, 23 Jun 2014 09:22:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 43224 at http://ktep.org Settlement Brings An Early End To Apple's Price-Fixing Case http://ktep.org/post/settlement-brings-early-end-apples-price-fixing-case Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel. Apple has reached an out-of-court settlement with dozens of states and a number of other plaintiffs over e-book price fixing. The company was facing more than $800 million in damages. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 42886 at http://ktep.org Jazz Balladeer Influenced Better-Known Singers http://ktep.org/post/jazz-balladeer-influenced-better-known-singers Transcript <p>SCOTT SIMON, HOST: <p>Jimmy Scott died this week. The jazz balladeer died of natural causes at his home in Las Vegas. He was 88. His ethereal contralto influenced countless singers, men and women. But his career was a series of up, downs and finally, ups, as NPR's Mandalit del Barco explains.<p>MANDALIT DEL BARCO: James Victor Scott was known as Little Jimmy Scott because he looks so young and small. He had a rare genetic hormonal condition that left growth stunted for many years and prevented him from reaching puberty. Sat, 14 Jun 2014 12:04:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 42692 at http://ktep.org Ruby Dee: An Actress Who Marched On Washington And Onto The Screen http://ktep.org/post/ruby-dee-actress-who-marched-washington-and-screen Born Ruby Ann Wallace in the early 1920s in Cleveland, actress and civil rights activist Ruby Dee most identified with the part of New York City where she was raised.<p>"I don't know who I would be if I weren't this child from Harlem, this woman from Harlem. It's in me so deep," Dee told NPR's <em>Tell Me More</em> in 2007.<p>She died Wednesday of natural causes at her home in New Rochelle, N.Y., surrounded by her children and grandchildren. She was 91.<p>Dee, who took the surname of her first husband, blues singer Frankie Dee, grew up in Harlem's rich cultural neighborhood, writing poetry. Thu, 12 Jun 2014 23:43:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 42586 at http://ktep.org Ruby Dee: An Actress Who Marched On Washington And Onto The Screen 'Lego Movie' Caught In Amazon's Battle With Warner Home Video http://ktep.org/post/lego-movie-caught-amazons-battle-warner-home-video Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, BYLINE: We begin NPR's Business News with another Amazon standoff. Amazon, the giant online retailer, is in a battle with Warner Home Video. Amazon says it deserves a bigger piece of the pie, and until the company gets it it's refusing to sell Warner's forthcoming DVDs. Thu, 12 Jun 2014 09:24:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 42516 at http://ktep.org 'Nerdfighters' Mobilize For Film Premiere, Armed With Favorite Lines http://ktep.org/post/nerd-fighters-mobilize-film-premiere-armed-favorite-lines John Green's love story, <em>The Fault in Our Stars</em>, is a cult classic for young readers. The film adaptation comes out Friday, and excitement has reached a fever pitch among middle-schoolers obsessed with the book. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Wed, 04 Jun 2014 21:00:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 42047 at http://ktep.org In Hollywood, 50 Is The New 80: What Happens When 'It Girls' Get Old http://ktep.org/post/hollywood-50-new-80-what-happens-when-it-girls-get-old There's no shortage of "it girls" in Hollywood — there's 31-year-old Lupita Nyongo, 24-year-old Jennifer Lawrence, 21-year-old Shailene Woodley, and even 16-year-old Elle Fanning. But what will become of their careers when they're older?<p>The industry is notoriously young; acting roles for women often dry up by the time they're 40. And in her new book <em>I See You Made an Effort, </em>Annabelle Gurwitch shares "compliments, indiginities, and survival stories" from the other side of 50.<p>"I'm 52, which is actually 82 in actress years," she says. Sat, 31 May 2014 20:16:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 41805 at http://ktep.org In Hollywood, 50 Is The New 80: What Happens When 'It Girls' Get Old Authors Angered Over Amazon's Dispute With Publisher Hachette http://ktep.org/post/authors-angered-over-amazons-dispute-publisher-hachette Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>We've reached a moment that probably shouldn't surprise us when it comes to the modern publishing industry. A lot of people are addicted to buying books online using Amazon. But Amazon is now in a pricing dispute with the publisher Hachette. The online giant is refusing to accept orders for upcoming books from Hachette, which has a heavy-hitting roster of authors. NPR's Mandalit del Barco reports.<p>MANDALIT DEL BARCO: Some authors are furious at Amazon.<p>NINA LADEN: They don't really care. Thu, 29 May 2014 09:25:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 41620 at http://ktep.org How Do You Get Latino Kids Into Classical Music? Bring The Parents http://ktep.org/post/how-do-you-get-latino-kids-classical-music-bring-parents Outside the concert hall at Occidental College, in Los Angeles' Eagle Rock neighborhood, children are invited to test out the instruments the Santa Cecilia Orchestra will play later. Alexa Media Rodriguez, 8, says she and her family have never before been to an orchestra concert. Tue, 27 May 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 41516 at http://ktep.org How Do You Get Latino Kids Into Classical Music? Bring The Parents Calif. Gov. Brown Urged To Expand Tax Credits For Movie Industry http://ktep.org/post/calif-gov-brown-urged-expand-tax-credits-movie-industry The state Assembly passed a bill to offer tax incentives to film and TV production companies. Big city mayors signed a letter in support, but it's not clear Gov. Jerry Brown will sign on. Wed, 14 May 2014 09:21:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 40599 at http://ktep.org Hollywood Protests Against Owners Of Beverly Hills Hotel http://ktep.org/post/hollywood-protests-against-owners-beverly-hills-hotel Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>A landmark hotel in Hollywood has become the focus of protest. The hotel is part of an international chain. The hotel chain is owned by the Sultan of Brunei. He's the ruler of a tiny Southeast Asian country that recently introduced a strict form of Islamic Sharia laws. Fri, 09 May 2014 09:11:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 40289 at http://ktep.org A Film And Fashion Icon On Aging, And The Power Of Turtlenecks http://ktep.org/post/film-and-fashion-icon-aging-and-power-turtlenecks Actress Diane Keaton remains an icon, decades after her Oscar-winning performance in <em>Annie Hall</em>. At 68, she's a single mother of two, once romantically linked to some of Hollywood's biggest heartthrobs and still starring in films. And she still rocks her trademark look: a bowler hat, tinted glasses, oversized clothes, scarves, gloves, long sleeves and boots — "Clothing that actually hides the body," she says. "There's a lot to hide in my case. I'm the only remaining person on earth with this particular look."<p>For our interview, I wore a turtleneck sweater. Mon, 05 May 2014 20:02:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 40036 at http://ktep.org A Film And Fashion Icon On Aging, And The Power Of Turtlenecks Writer Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Who Gave Voice To Latin America, Dies http://ktep.org/post/writer-gabriel-garcia-marquez-who-gave-voice-latin-america-dies Latin American author Gabriel Garcia Marquez, who won the Nobel Prize in literature in 1982, died Thursday. He was 87. Garcia Marquez, the master of a style known as magic realism, was and remains Latin America's best-known writer.<p>His novels were filled with miraculous and enchanting events and characters; love and madness; wars, politics, dreams and death. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 21:28:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 38873 at http://ktep.org Writer Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Who Gave Voice To Latin America, Dies Sony Pictures To Lay Off Interactive Group http://ktep.org/post/sony-pictures-lay-interactive-group Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>NPR's business news starts with Hollywood layoffs.<p>Sony has notified California's Labor Board that come June it will lay off more than 200 employees at its movie and television studios.<p>NPR's Mandalit del Barco reports this is happening in a film industry that's facing across the board cost cutting.<p>MANDALIT DEL BARCO, BYLINE: Sony Pictures Entertainment will reportedly lay off its entire interactive marketing team responsible for online movie promos like this.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF MOVIE PROMO)<p>UNIDENTIFIED MAN: Officials searching for answers as to wh Wed, 19 Mar 2014 09:01:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 36945 at http://ktep.org New Academy President Pushes For More Diverse Voting Members http://ktep.org/post/new-academy-president-pushes-more-diverse-voting-members For the first time, this year's best director Oscar could go to a Mexican (Alfonso Cuaron, for <em>Gravity</em>) or a black Brit (Steve McQueen, for <em>12 Years a Slave</em>). That film's lead actor, Chiwetel Ejiofor, is also in the running for an award; so is his Kenyan co-star Lupita Nyong'o, who was born in Mexico. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 22:59:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 35681 at http://ktep.org New Academy President Pushes For More Diverse Voting Members Alice Herz-Sommer, Pianist And Holocaust Survivor, Dies At 110 http://ktep.org/post/alice-herz-sommer-pianist-and-holocaust-survivor-dies-110 Renowned concert pianist Alice Herz-Sommer, once thought to be the oldest living Holocaust survivor, has died at age 110. Her story is told in the Oscar-nominated film, The Lady in Number 6. Mon, 24 Feb 2014 21:20:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 35430 at http://ktep.org How The Organization Behind The Grammys Spends The Other 364 Days http://ktep.org/post/how-organization-behind-grammys-spends-other-364-days This Sunday's Grammy Awards ceremony is the annual big-ticket item for the National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences. More than 28 million people around the world tuned in to watch the concert show last year. And this year's telecast is once again being touted as the most complicated — and expensive — production on TV.<p>CBS has aired the Grammys for more than 40 years, and has an agreement with The Recording Academy to broadcast the live event annually until the year 2021. Fri, 24 Jan 2014 23:04:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 33460 at http://ktep.org How The Organization Behind The Grammys Spends The Other 364 Days DirecTV: Customers Balked At Weather Channel's Reality Shows http://ktep.org/post/directv-customers-balked-weather-channels-realtiy-shows Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>This next story began as pretty much your standard contract dispute. Fri, 17 Jan 2014 09:51:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 32969 at http://ktep.org Sunday Assembly: A Church For The Godless Picks Up Steam http://ktep.org/post/sunday-assembly-church-godless-picks-steam It sometimes <em>feels</em> like church in the auditorium of the Professional Musicians union in Hollywood. It's a Sunday morning, and hundreds of people are gathered to meditate, sing and listen to inspirational poetry and stories.<p>But then the live band starts up — performing songs by the Beatles, the Rolling Stones and Jerry Lee Lewis. Tue, 07 Jan 2014 07:57:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 32264 at http://ktep.org Sunday Assembly: A Church For The Godless Picks Up Steam Fielder Offers Absurd Marketing Advice On Comedy Central http://ktep.org/post/fielding-offers-absurd-marketing-advice-comedy-central Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Let's hear now about a new reality show featuring a mild-mannered Canadian who gives outlandish advice to companies looking to up their game. Thu, 02 Jan 2014 10:37:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 31980 at http://ktep.org Drummer Chico Hamilton, West Coast Jazz Pioneer, Dies http://ktep.org/post/drummer-chico-hamilton-west-coast-jazz-mainstay-dies <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZNaSZmKL65I</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uXULG-UKVq8</p> Tue, 26 Nov 2013 22:29:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 29785 at http://ktep.org Drummer Chico Hamilton, West Coast Jazz Pioneer, Dies AK-47s, Accordions And Angels Of Death: Narcocorridos Hit The Big Screen http://ktep.org/post/ak-47s-accordions-and-angels-death-narcocorridos-hit-big-screen <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UaJ_hru9Qk4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OCNhQxWXkcw</p> Tue, 26 Nov 2013 07:03:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 29708 at http://ktep.org AK-47s, Accordions And Angels Of Death: Narcocorridos Hit The Big Screen Comcast Deal Puts New Minority-Run Channels In Play http://ktep.org/post/comcast-deal-puts-new-minority-run-channels-play Rapper and producer Sean "Diddy" Combs, director Robert Rodriguez, and basketball legend Magic Johnson each now has his own new cable TV networks. Their channels were part of a merger deal Comcast made with the FCC to give a shot to new networks owned by African Americans, Latinos and others.<p>Last month, Combs threw on his classic Puff Daddy alias to welcome millennial viewers to his new music network, Revolt.<p>"This is really happening, people," the rapper said at the launch. "A boy from Harlem is really standing on a stoop in Brooklyn launching a network worldwide. Tue, 12 Nov 2013 08:08:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 28816 at http://ktep.org Comcast Deal Puts New Minority-Run Channels In Play Canada Takes Cable A La Carte, But Don't Expect U.S. To Follow http://ktep.org/post/canada-takes-cable-la-carte-dont-expect-us-follow Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>If you want to watch MTV, you have to pay for ESPN, even if you don't want to watch sports, and a lot of cable customers don't like it. In the cable TV business, it's called bundling. Now, the government of Canada is requiring cable companies to take those bundles apart. Mon, 21 Oct 2013 09:03:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 27415 at http://ktep.org 1 In 7 American Adults Don't Go Online http://ktep.org/post/1-7-american-adults-dont-go-online Fifteen percent of Americans don't use the Internet, according to a survey by the Pew Research Center. Most of these "offline adults" are 65 years old or older, many live in rural areas and have incomes lower than $30,000 a year. Thu, 26 Sep 2013 09:06:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 25798 at http://ktep.org East LA Homegirl Goes Hollywood http://ktep.org/post/east-la-homegirl-goes-hollywood Evangeline Ordaz is no ordinary Hollywood show runner. When she's not teaching constitutional law or rehabbing historic buildings, she's writing for a racy soap opera about <a href="http://eastloshigh.com/" target="_blank">Latino teens in East Los Angeles</a>. <em>East Los High</em> was a big summer success for the TV-on-demand website Hulu, and much of the credit for keeping the show real goes to its multitalented main writer.<p>Ordaz was born and bred in East Los Angeles — East Los, as it's known. Fri, 13 Sep 2013 21:05:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 25025 at http://ktep.org East LA Homegirl Goes Hollywood Sound Pioneer Ray Dolby Dies At 80 http://ktep.org/post/sound-poineer-ray-dolby-dies-80 Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Ray Dolby, whose inventions revolutionized the way audiences listen to entertainment, has died. Fri, 13 Sep 2013 08:58:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 24965 at http://ktep.org Tina Brown To Leave The Daily Beast http://ktep.org/post/tina-brown-leave-daily-beast Celebrity editor Tina Brown announced Wednesday that she's leaving The Daily Beast to launch her own media company. She has been a regular guest on <em>Morning Edition</em>. Brown, 59, plans to produce live forums on news topics.<p>Brown has edited some of the most prestigious publications: <em>Vanity Fair</em>, <em>The New Yorker</em> and <em>Tattler</em>. Five years ago, she helped found The Daily Beast — a news and opinion website. Thu, 12 Sep 2013 05:36:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 24872 at http://ktep.org Tina Brown To Leave The Daily Beast New HIV Cases Spotlight Adult Film Industry's Testing System http://ktep.org/post/hiv-outbreak-spotlights-adult-film-industrys-testing-system Adult film production in California is now suspended after a number of performers tested positive for HIV. Four cases have been reported in the past few months, including one on Monday.<p>If ever there was an "I told you so moment" for the AIDS Healthcare Foundation, it's now. The organization has been campaigning for condoms to be mandatory during porn shoots. Tue, 10 Sep 2013 22:05:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 24785 at http://ktep.org New HIV Cases Spotlight Adult Film Industry's Testing System