Sam Sanders http://ktep.org en In Sochi, An Olympic Artist Sees The 'Possible' http://ktep.org/post/sochi-olympic-artist-sees-possible <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uIDdyz8rRqQ</p> Thu, 06 Feb 2014 23:29:00 +0000 Sam Sanders & Sam H. Sanders 34317 at http://ktep.org In Sochi, An Olympic Artist Sees The 'Possible' New Law Puts Gloves On California Bartenders http://ktep.org/post/new-law-puts-gloves-california-bartenders Bartender Cameron Hall hadn't heard of a new California law that bans culinary workers from touching uncooked food with their bare hands.<p>The rule applies to bartenders, who are now supposed to wear gloves to put limes in the mojitos and cherries in the Manhattans — even to scoop ice into a glass.<p>But when a reporter fills him in, Hall stops serving drinks at Rocco's Tavern, a little spot in downtown Culver City, just long enough to rant.<p>"It'd just be a pain," he says. "It'd be a nuisance. Sun, 26 Jan 2014 17:03:00 +0000 Sam Sanders & Sam H. Sanders 33538 at http://ktep.org New Law Puts Gloves On California Bartenders No Relief Forecast After One Of California's Driest Years Ever http://ktep.org/post/no-relief-forecast-after-one-californias-driest-years-ever It's a near-perfect morning on Venice Beach in Southern California, temperatures in the 60s, with a breeze. You can hear the waves of the Pacific crash against the sand. Only a layer of clouds mars the scene.<p>Scott and Sue Nolan, visiting from Houston, play kickball in the sand with their son. Sun, 05 Jan 2014 15:12:00 +0000 Sam Sanders 32173 at http://ktep.org No Relief Forecast After One Of California's Driest Years Ever Target's Word May Not Be Enough To Keep Your Stolen PIN Safe http://ktep.org/post/targets-word-may-not-be-enough-keep-your-stolen-pins-safe The giant retailer Target continues to feel the fallout from a massive security breach at its stores. <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2013/12/27/257634334/target-encrypted-data-were-taken-but-not-the-key-to-unlock">The latest revelation</a>: Hackers who stole credit and debit card numbers this holiday season also collected encrypted personal identification numbers.<p>But Brigitte Clark had no worries as she left a Target in Los Angeles on Saturday morning, her cart full of groceries.<p>"I feel about as safe as we can be," she says. Sun, 29 Dec 2013 16:12:00 +0000 Sam Sanders 31771 at http://ktep.org Target's Word May Not Be Enough To Keep Your Stolen PIN Safe Hot Sauce Maker In A Jam http://ktep.org/post/hot-sauce-maker-jam Transcript <p>SCOTT SIMON, HOST: <p>The factory that makes and bottles Sriracha sauce is in trouble - for the second time this year. First, one of the company's Southern California plants faced a shutdown after neighbors complained about the pungent odor there, and now a California Department of Public Health has placed a 30-day hold on all new bottles of Sriracha, citing health concerns. NPR's Sam Sanders reports.<p>SAM SANDERS, BYLINE: The bright red bottle with the green tip and a rooster on the label - Sriracha. It's everywhere. Sat, 14 Dec 2013 12:23:00 +0000 Sam Sanders 30895 at http://ktep.org LA's Filipinos Grieve For Loved Ones Abroad By Taking Action http://ktep.org/post/las-filipinos-grieve-loved-ones-abroad-taking-action Since Typhoon Haiyan hit the Philippines last week, the largest Filipino community in America has come together to grieve and to help.<p>Friday night, about 25 miles south of Los Angeles, members of Long Beach's Filipino community gathered at Grace United Methodist Church to hold a vigil for typhoon victims. One by one, attendees came to the microphone and named people who died or remain lost in the storm.<p>Rev. Nestor Gerente, the pastor at Grace United, came to the U.S. from Manila 15 years ago. He lost relatives in the storm. Sat, 16 Nov 2013 22:29:00 +0000 Sam Sanders 29194 at http://ktep.org In California, A High School That Cheers A-R-A-B-S http://ktep.org/post/california-high-school-cheers-r-b-s Last week, Coachella Valley High School came under fire for the name of its mascot — the Arab. The American-Arab Anti-Discrimination Committee sent a letter to the school, complaining about the way the mascot depicts people of Arab descent. <a href="http://www.adc.org/fileadmin/ADC/Pdfs/ADC_CVHS_Letter.PDF" target="_blank">The complaint</a> made the school national news.<p>At Coachella Valley High School last Friday — a game day — instead of getting ready for kickoff, students were stopped by television camera crews as they left campus. Mon, 11 Nov 2013 22:11:00 +0000 Sam Sanders 28804 at http://ktep.org In California, A High School That Cheers A-R-A-B-S Aftermath At The Airport: LAX Tries To Turn Back To Business http://ktep.org/post/aftermath-airport-lax-tries-turn-back-business Nearly 1,000 scheduled flights and 100,000 passengers were affected at Los Angeles International Airport, where a gunman on Friday killed a TSA agent and wounded others. On Saturday afternoon, a major terminal in one of the nation's busiest airports finally reopened, FBI agents continued their investigation, and thousands of passengers tried to catch their flights. Sat, 02 Nov 2013 21:49:00 +0000 Sam Sanders 28272 at http://ktep.org Not In My Backyard: Hollywood Sign's Neighbors Fed Up With Tourists http://ktep.org/post/not-my-backyard-hollywood-signs-neighbors-fed-tourists Transcript <p>ARUN RATH, HOST: <p>If you've ever been to Los Angeles, no doubt you've sent a selfie with a Hollywood sign in the background. If that is you, you're not alone. The iconic sign is one of the city's biggest tourist attractions. Over the last few years, social media and GPS have only multiplied the number of visitors. Now, homeowners in the area say that's wreaking havoc in their neighborhood. NPR's Sam Sanders reports.<p>SAM SANDERS, BYLINE: Marcus Suffert(ph) is visiting L.A. from Germany. I found him walking up towards the Hollywood sign on a sunny L.A. Sun, 13 Oct 2013 21:19:00 +0000 Sam Sanders 26961 at http://ktep.org San Diego Air Show Grounded By Shutdown http://ktep.org/post/san-diego-air-show-grounded-shutdown Transcript <p>RACHEL MARTIN, HOST: <p>The shutdown is affecting communities all over the country. We're going now to San Diego. There is a big U.S. Navy presence in town and San Diego is home to the Miramar Air Show. But that show has been cancelled this weekend due to the partial government shutdown. In past years, the event has drawn over half a million people, earned millions of dollars for programs that help military families. Sun, 06 Oct 2013 11:18:00 +0000 Sam Sanders 26469 at http://ktep.org Students Find Ways To Hack School-Issued iPads Within A Week http://ktep.org/post/students-find-ways-hack-school-issued-ipads-within-week Los Angeles Unified School District started issuing iPads to its students this school year, as part of a $30 million deal with Apple. Fri, 27 Sep 2013 07:02:00 +0000 Sam Sanders 25874 at http://ktep.org Students Find Ways To Hack School-Issued iPads Within A Week Hollywood's Chinese Theater Reopens After Makeover http://ktep.org/post/hollywoods-chinese-theater-reopens-after-makeover Transcript <p>ARUN RATH, HOST: <p>Our first show from NPR West in Southern California coincides with another grand occasion, the reopening of the iconic Chinese Theater on Hollywood Boulevard. It's been refurbished and reconfigured. Sat, 21 Sep 2013 21:45:00 +0000 Sam Sanders 25522 at http://ktep.org As Colorado Floods Continue, Rescuers Help Stranded Evacuate http://ktep.org/post/colorado-floods-continue-rescuers-help-stranded-evacuate Rain and flooding continue in Colorado today. Thousands of people have been evacuated and rescue crews are making their way to those stranded in buildings behind impassable roads. Fri, 13 Sep 2013 22:04:00 +0000 Sam Sanders 25042 at http://ktep.org How Many Lives Does 'One Life To Live' Have? http://ktep.org/post/how-many-lives-does-one-life-live-have Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Oh this is terrible, the soap opera "One Life to Live" may have run out of lives. The company that took the show online recently announced that it is suspending production.<p>NPR's Sam Sanders tells us why.<p>SAM SANDERS, BYLINE: This is not the first time "One Life to Live" has been on life support. In 2011, ABC cancelled the show, because of low ratings. Mon, 09 Sep 2013 09:26:00 +0000 Sam Sanders 24661 at http://ktep.org Frank Ocean's Big Year, And What Hasn't Changed In Hip-Hop http://ktep.org/post/frank-oceans-big-year-and-what-hasnt-changed-hip-hop <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/137108917/frank-ocean" target="_blank">Frank Ocean</a> is set to take a victory lap at this year's Grammys. He's up for six awards for his album <em>Channel Orange</em>, including best new artist, and he'll be performing as well. Sat, 09 Feb 2013 10:45:00 +0000 Sam Sanders 10546 at http://ktep.org Frank Ocean's Big Year, And What Hasn't Changed In Hip-Hop After Sandy Hook Shootings, Dads Step Up Security http://ktep.org/post/after-sandy-hook-shootings-dads-step-security Transcript <p>RACHEL MARTIN, HOST: <p>After the Newtown shootings, some suggested that schools look to local volunteers to beef up security. One national organization has been doing that for years. It's called Watch D.O.G.S., and it organizes fathers to volunteer in their children's schools. After Sandy Hook, the group's strategy didn't changed. Some Watchdogs say they've just become even more vigilant. Sun, 20 Jan 2013 11:02:00 +0000 Sam Sanders 9204 at http://ktep.org