Eleanor Beardsley http://ktep.org en Firefights And Fallen Separatists, As Ukraine Offensive Advances http://ktep.org/post/firefights-and-fallen-separatists-ukraine-offensive-advances Early Thursday morning, the Ukrainian military moved into towns held by militants. Firefights and casualties have been reported at a number of different locations. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 20:15:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 39344 at http://ktep.org Moscow Answers Ukrainian Offensive With Warning Of Its Own http://ktep.org/post/moscow-answers-ukrainian-offensive-warning-its-own Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>Russia's Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov warned today that his country would respond if its citizens or interests came under attack in Ukraine. The warning came as the interim Ukrainian government ordered a new offensive against pro-Moscow militants occupying government buildings across Eastern Ukraine. NPR's Eleanor Beardsley reports from Donetsk.<p>ELEANOR BEARDSLEY, BYLINE: As the threat of real war heats up, so does the propaganda war. One of the things journalists have been hearing a lot lately from people here is the word pravda, or truth. Wed, 23 Apr 2014 20:21:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 39256 at http://ktep.org Amid Ukraine's Faltering Hopes For Peace, Biden Speaks In Kiev http://ktep.org/post/amid-ukraines-faltering-hopes-peace-biden-speaks-kiev Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>Vice President Joe Biden warned Russia today that it must join in efforts to reduce tensions in Ukraine. Biden was in Ukraine's capital, Kiev, and it looks like last week's international agreement to disarm militant groups in that country is failing. Ukrainian president says the security service will resume an anti-terrorist operation following the discovery of two bodies in eastern Ukraine. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:16:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 39179 at http://ktep.org Slovyansk Strengthens Resolve To Fight Kiev Government http://ktep.org/post/slaviansk-strengthens-resolve-fight-kiev-government Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Vice President Joe Biden has wrapped up his visit to the Ukrainian capital of Kiev which was a show of support for that country's beleaguered interim government. This morning, the U.S. announced nearly $60 million in economic, political and non-lethal military aid. That assistance comes as Kiev and Moscow accuse each other of breaking last week's agreement that called for armed groups to lay down their weapons and vacate public spaces. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 10:06:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 39137 at http://ktep.org Eastern Ukraine Town Sent Reeling After Checkpoint Killings http://ktep.org/post/eastern-ukraine-town-sent-reeling-after-checkpoint-killings The killing of three people at a checkpoint in the eastern Ukrainian city of Slaviansk has increased tension in the town, where a government building is being occupied by pro-Moscow militants. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 20:05:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 39102 at http://ktep.org Ukraine's Divide, Too Broad For Easter To Bridge? http://ktep.org/post/ukraines-divide-may-be-too-broad-easter-bridge Transcript <p>RACHEL MARTIN, HOST: <p>This is WEEKEND EDITION from NPR News. I'm Rachel Martin. Ukraine celebrates Easter today as a divided country. Last week, world leaders met in Geneva to try to tamp down the crisis and end the occupation of government buildings by pro-Russian militants. So far, nothing has happened. Hoping the holiday will calm tensions, Ukraine's interim defense minister called an Easter truce. But despite their common faith, many feel the divide between Ukrainians in the east and west may be too large to heal. Sun, 20 Apr 2014 12:07:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 39026 at http://ktep.org Despite Easter 'Truce,' Standoff In Ukraine Appears Steadfast http://ktep.org/post/despite-easter-truce-standoff-ukraine-appears-steadfast In the Ukrainian city of Donetsk, the opposing camps seem increasingly entrenched, despite a diplomatic effort to ease tensions. Pro-Russian forces refuse to leave occupied buildings and public squares in the east. It's an uneasy Easter weekend and neither side is willing to budge. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 21:09:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 39010 at http://ktep.org Both Sides Dig In Their Heels Over Crimea Crisis http://ktep.org/post/both-sides-dig-their-heels-over-crimea-crisis Ukraine shares a long history with Russia, but the latest crisis is driving a wedge between the two countries and reinforcing a sense of national identity among many Ukrainians. Sun, 06 Apr 2014 15:22:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 38132 at http://ktep.org Dans Le Train, French Spend Their Commute Learning English http://ktep.org/post/dans-le-train-french-spend-their-commute-learning-english On some French trains, the conductor's whistle signals more than just a departure. For commuters traveling on an express train from Reims to Paris — a 90-mile, 45-minute ride — it means the beginning of English class.<p>"Before the course, we were sleeping in the train in the morning," says passenger-student Gilles Hallais. "So I prefer practicing English."<p>Hallais, 44, is a journalist at French public radio. He says while he doesn't need English for his work, he does need it for his life. Sat, 29 Mar 2014 09:36:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 37612 at http://ktep.org Dans Le Train, French Spend Their Commute Learning English Paris Poised To Elect City Of Light's First Female Mayor http://ktep.org/post/paris-poised-elect-city-lights-first-female-mayor Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>Voters in Paris go to the polls Sunday to elect a new mayor. And for the first time in its long history, the city will have a woman at the helm. Despite the historical significance, the race has failed to spark much enthusiasm among voters. NPR's Eleanor Beardsley has more.<p>ELEANOR BEARDSLEY, BYLINE: On a warm spring-ish afternoon, Socialist candidate for mayor Anne Hidalgo is out in Paris' bourgeois 16th Arrondissement to support a public housing project. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 21:10:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 37586 at http://ktep.org Ukrainians Speculate What Russia Plans To Do Next http://ktep.org/post/ukrainians-speculate-over-what-russia-plans-do-next Ukrainians in Kiev are debating if the Russian military buildup on the border between the two countries is just saber rattling or the precursor to a second incursion. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 09:04:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 37394 at http://ktep.org A Culture Of Unchecked Abuse Thrives In Ukraine And Crimea http://ktep.org/post/culture-unchecked-abuse-thrives-ukraine-and-crimea <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F5GeBpZ5VHY</p> Sun, 23 Mar 2014 16:00:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 37229 at http://ktep.org A Culture Of Unchecked Abuse Thrives In Ukraine And Crimea As Russia And The West Trade Shots Across The Bow, Kiev Looks On http://ktep.org/post/russia-and-west-trade-shots-across-bow-kiev-looks Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel.<p>The U.S. and Europe imposed new sanctions on Russian leaders today in response to Russia's takeover of Crimea. The Russians responded with their own sanctions. The country's foreign minister accused Kiev of organizing attacks on Russian speakers in eastern Ukraine. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 20:28:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 37071 at http://ktep.org For Crimea, Split From Ukraine Would Be Complicated And Costly http://ktep.org/post/crimea-split-ukraine-would-be-complicated-and-costly Crimea is a poor region, heavily subsidized by Kiev, and gets all its gas, water and food from Ukraine. Russia doesn't even have a land link with the Crimean peninsula and absorbing it will affect banks, schools, tourism and pensions for residents. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 08:31:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 37015 at http://ktep.org Anger And Shock In Kiev Over Russia's Land Grab http://ktep.org/post/anger-and-shock-kiev-over-russias-land-grab Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>Now, Russia's actions are being celebrated in Crimea. Many people there are excited about the idea of joining Russia. The emotion is much more downtrodden in the capital, Kiev, where there's a feeling of loss setting in.<p>And here's Eleanor Beardsley is there.<p>ELEANOR BEARDSLEY, BYLINE: Where there was a TV, it seemed people were gathered around it to watch Putin's speech. The Russian leader said Crimea rightfully belonged to Russia. And with the stroke of a pen, took away part of Ukraine. Wed, 19 Mar 2014 09:01:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 36948 at http://ktep.org Kiev Mobilizes Thousands Of Troops, Preparing For Worst http://ktep.org/post/kiev-mobilizes-thousands-troops-preparing-worst The Ukrainian parliament has voted to mobilize 40,000 reservists as Kiev tries to beef up its military following the referendum in Crimea. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 20:09:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 36840 at http://ktep.org Crimeans Vote To Leave Ukraine, Join Russia http://ktep.org/post/crimeans-vote-leave-ukraine-join-russia Crimeans voted overwhelmingly on Sunday to leave Ukraine and join Russia. Morning Edition checks in with NPR's Gregory Warner in Simferopol and Eleanor Beardsley in Kiev for the latest. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 09:02:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 36800 at http://ktep.org With All Eyes On The East, A Seige Mentality Settles On Kiev http://ktep.org/post/all-eyes-east-seige-mentality-settles-kiev Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel.<p>U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry held last-minute talks with his Russian counterpart, Sergey Lavrov, in London today, but there was no breakthrough. Kerry had been trying to head off the referendum on Crimean secession from Ukraine. That vote is set for Sunday. In a moment, we'll hear more about the situation in Crimea. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 36689 at http://ktep.org Hollande's U.S. Visit To Send Signal To French Entrepreneurs http://ktep.org/post/hollandes-us-visit-send-signal-french-entrepreneurs French President Francois Hollande arrives in the U.S. on Monday. In addition to a stop at Thomas Jefferson's Monticello in Virginia, Hollande will travel to Silicon Valley. The French president has been seen as anti-business, but he is trying to send a positive signal to French entrepreneurs with his visit to the world's high-tech capital. Mon, 10 Feb 2014 11:23:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 34502 at http://ktep.org France Takes A Stand, Crushing Ivory Beneath The Eiffel Tower http://ktep.org/post/france-crushes-ivory-beneath-eiffel-tower Transcript <p>(SOUNDBITE OF MUSIC)<p>RACHEL MARTIN, HOST: <p>This is WEEKEND EDITION from NPR NEW. I'm Rachel Martin.<p>This past week, France became the first European country to destroy illegal ivory in a high profile public demonstration. It did so underneath the Eiffel Tower as part of a global effort to call attention to the illicit ivory trade. Sun, 09 Feb 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 34458 at http://ktep.org Comedian Runs Afoul Of France's Strict Laws On Hate Speech http://ktep.org/post/comedian-runs-afoul-frances-strict-laws-hate-speech Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel.<p>French police raided the Paris offices and home of a controversial comedian today. The comedian is known by his stage name of Dieudonne, he's been accused of making anti-Semitic remarks during his performances, although he denies that. Tue, 28 Jan 2014 21:52:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 33684 at http://ktep.org Musical Theater Takes The Stage In Paris http://ktep.org/post/musical-theater-takes-stage-paris Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>To see a musical, you might travel to New York or even to London, but Paris? Aside from the language barrier, musicals have always been considered silly by French standards and not widely embraced, but that is changing. As NPR's Eleanor Beardsley reports, Parisians have been enjoying a string of musical theater performances at one of the city's venerable theaters.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF MUSIC)<p>ELEANOR BEARDSLEY, BYLINE: "My Fair Lady" played to sold-out audiences in Paris this Christmas. Thu, 23 Jan 2014 21:43:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 33364 at http://ktep.org On Third Anniversary, Tunisians May Get A Constitution http://ktep.org/post/third-anniversary-tunisians-may-get-constitution Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>The Arab Spring that brought those changes to Egypt began in Tunisia, exactly three years ago today. Tunisians overthrew their dictator, prompting a wave of uprisings across the region. But three years on, lawmakers are still struggling to ratify a new constitution and lay the foundations of their country's future. Tue, 14 Jan 2014 22:12:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 32782 at http://ktep.org Is This Arab Spring Country Finally Getting It Right? http://ktep.org/post/tunisians-work-toward-democracy-after-arab-spring Tunisia — the country that launched the Arab uprisings — is celebrating the third anniversary of its revolution Tuesday.<p>Since the departure of Tunisia's dictator, Zine El Abidine Ben Ali, there's been a struggle between religious and secular forces, which has been the case in other Arab Spring countries.<p>Egyptians are voting Tuesday and Wednesday on a constitution that's seen mostly as a referendum on the military that ousted an elected Islamist leader and has sought to crush dissent. Libya remains dogged by political turmoil. Tue, 14 Jan 2014 11:38:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 32736 at http://ktep.org Is This Arab Spring Country Finally Getting It Right? New Constitution Is A Sign Of Tunisia's Optimism http://ktep.org/post/new-constitution-sign-tunisias-optimism Transcript <p>RACHEL MARTIN, HOST: <p>On Tuesday, Tunisia will celebrate the third anniversary of its revolution. Tunisia is the country that inspired uprisings across the Arab world. Since then, that country has gone through tough times but it seems to have found its way again. Opposing sides have drafted the new constitution together. It will be ready in a couple days, and new elections are set for this year. Sun, 12 Jan 2014 14:56:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 32624 at http://ktep.org No Rain On His Parade: Parisian Preserves Art Of Umbrella Repair http://ktep.org/post/no-rain-his-parade-parisian-preserves-art-umbrella-repair When an umbrella breaks, most people just throw it away — and pick up another one, from a street vendor or maybe a drugstore.<p>But what if you got it repaired instead? Would you even be able to find someone who could do the work?<p>In Paris, it's still possible, but just barely. What was once a thriving profession has dwindled dramatically. Thu, 09 Jan 2014 08:37:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 32411 at http://ktep.org No Rain On His Parade: Parisian Preserves Art Of Umbrella Repair In Troubled Magazine World, 'La Hulotte' Is One Rare Bird http://ktep.org/post/troubled-magazine-world-la-hulotte-one-rare-bird The journalism world may be in crisis, but one magazine in France has been steadily gaining subscribers for 40 years. It's a nature journal called <a href="http://lahulotte.fr/index.php">La Hulotte</a>, and twice a year it focuses on an animal or plant indigenous to the French countryside. The magazine published its 100th issue in November. Wed, 01 Jan 2014 08:04:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 31930 at http://ktep.org In Troubled Magazine World, 'La Hulotte' Is One Rare Bird Chopin's Favorite Piano Factory Plays Its Final Chord http://ktep.org/post/chopins-favorite-piano-factory-plays-its-final-chord <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_sBvZh_GI9A</p> Sat, 28 Dec 2013 07:03:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 31713 at http://ktep.org Chopin's Favorite Piano Factory Plays Its Final Chord Why French Troops Are Intervening In Africa — Again http://ktep.org/post/once-again-french-troops-intervene-africa Once again, French television screens are full of images of joyous Africans welcoming French troops.<p>In January, the French military intervened in Mali to help liberate large swaths of the country from radical jihadists. Now, for the second time this year, France has sent troops into an African country to quell violence.<p>Last week, French soldiers went into the Central African Republic to stop sectarian killings. Sun, 15 Dec 2013 13:23:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 30933 at http://ktep.org Why French Troops Are Intervening In Africa — Again Royal Gardener Planted The Seed Of Urban Planning At Versailles http://ktep.org/post/royal-gardener-planted-seed-urban-planning-versailles France's Chateau of Versailles has pulled out all the stops for one of its favorite sons, gardener Andre Le Notre, who designed the palace's famous gardens. Mon, 09 Dec 2013 22:47:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 30539 at http://ktep.org Royal Gardener Planted The Seed Of Urban Planning At Versailles