Scott Horsley http://ktep.org en Following Enrollment Deadline, Health Care Focus Turns To States http://ktep.org/post/following-enrollment-deadline-health-care-focus-turns-states President Obama met Thursday with insurance company executives and a separate group of insurance regulators from the states, discussing their mutual interest in administering the new health care law. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 20:23:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 38859 at http://ktep.org Obama's Tax Rate Rose — And He Can't Blame Anyone But Himself http://ktep.org/post/obamas-tax-rate-rose-and-he-cant-blame-anyone-himself President Obama, like many wealthy Americans, is paying more of his income to the IRS.<p>The White House <a href="http://www.whitehouse.gov/blog/2014/04/11/president-obama-and-vice-president-biden-s-2013-tax-returns">released the president's tax return</a> last week. It shows he and the first lady paid $98,169 in taxes for 2013 on income of $481,098. That's an effective tax rate of 20.4 percent.<p>In 2012, the Obamas paid just 18.4 percent of their income in taxes. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 19:35:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 38726 at http://ktep.org Obama's Tax Rate Rose — And He Can't Blame Anyone But Himself As Sebelius Steps Down, Obama Taps Budget Director To Replace Her http://ktep.org/post/sebelius-steps-down-obama-taps-budget-director-replace-her Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish. Health and Human Services Secretary Kathleen Sebelius got a fond farewell today from President Obama. She's resigning after a rocky tenure marred by the botched rollout of the government's health insurance exchange last fall. The president's tapping his budget director, Sylvia Mathews Burwell, to replace Sebelius. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 38497 at http://ktep.org Health Secretary Kathleen Sebelius To Step Down http://ktep.org/post/health-secretary-kathleen-sebelius-step-down The move comes about 6 months after the disastrous roll out of the health insurance website. It was eventually fixed, but not before delivering a severe blow to the president's approval ratings. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 09:20:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 38452 at http://ktep.org Sebelius, Leader Of Rocky Health Care Rollout, Resigns From HHS http://ktep.org/post/sebelius-leader-rocky-health-care-rollout-resigns-hhs Kathleen Sebelius has resigned from her position as secretary of health and human services. President Obama accepted her resignation, and he plans to nominate Sylvia Matthews Burwell to replace her. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 23:09:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 38442 at http://ktep.org White House Learns Complications Of Pay Equity Debate http://ktep.org/post/white-house-learns-complications-pay-equity-debate Money and politics don't always make for polite conversation, but President Obama tried to tackle both at the White House on Tuesday.<p>Obama signed a pair of executive orders aimed at encouraging conversation about men's and women's pay scales. It's a talk that Democrats hope will yield political gains this year.<p>It also raised questions, though, about how the administration pays its own people.<p>Standing before a crowd of women in the White House East Room, President Obama noted that the average woman working full time in America makes just 77 cents for every dollar earned by a man. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 22:21:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 38280 at http://ktep.org White House Learns Complications Of Pay Equity Debate Obama's Executive Orders Take On Unequal Pay For Women http://ktep.org/post/obamas-executive-orders-take-unequal-pay-women Transcript <p>(SOUNDBITE OF MUSIC)<p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>This is MORNING EDITION from NPR News. Good morning. I'm David Greene.<p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>And I'm Steve Inskeep.<p>Today is Equal Pay Day, according to the U.S. Labor Department. The government calculates the average pay of men and women.<p>GREENE: A woman would've had to work all last year, then all the way until today in order to match what the average man made just last year.<p>INSKEEP: She needed more than 15 months to match what the man made in 12.<p>GREENE: We're also nearing tax day. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 09:01:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 38217 at http://ktep.org With Enrollee Goal Met, Obamacare Still Faces Political Trial http://ktep.org/post/enrollee-goal-met-obamacare-still-faces-political-trial President Obama and his supporters had a rare opportunity to celebrate this week.<p>A last-minute surge in people signing up for health insurance sent the total government enrollment figures over the seven-million mark.<p>That number seemed out of reach just a few months ago, when a crash-prone website threatened to undermine the president's signature health care law.<p>Republicans are still bent on repealing the law, but now millions more Americans have a stake in Obamacare's survival.<p>On Tuesday, the president marked the comeback. Sat, 05 Apr 2014 17:03:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 38099 at http://ktep.org With Enrollee Goal Met, Obamacare Still Faces Political Trial In Arkansas, Voters May Get Chance To Raise Minimum Wage http://ktep.org/post/arkansas-voters-may-get-chance-raise-minimum-wage President Obama travels to Michigan Wednesday to tout his proposal to boost the minimum wage.<p>Raising the wage to $10.10 an hour is one of the top agenda items for Obama and his fellow Democrats during this mid-term election year. The White House says the move would put more money in the pockets of some 28 million workers.<p>One test of that strategy will be in Arkansas, where proponents are trying to put a minimum wage increase on the ballot in November. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 07:54:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 37843 at http://ktep.org In Arkansas, Voters May Get Chance To Raise Minimum Wage Cause For Hope And Frustration In the Shadow Of ACA Deadline http://ktep.org/post/cause-hope-and-frustration-shadow-aca-deadline As the Affordable Care Act's midnight deadline draws near, there has been a surge in last-minute signups. The heavy traffic has caused both glitches in the website and optimism from some forecasters. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 20:04:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 37731 at http://ktep.org Obama Aims To Soothe Strained Relations In Saudi Arabia http://ktep.org/post/obama-aims-soothe-strained-relations-saudi-arabia President Obama met Friday with the king of Saudi Arabia. There's considerable friction in the U.S.-Saudi relationship at the moment, with key differences over Syria and Iran. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 21:10:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 37580 at http://ktep.org Obama Meets Internet CEOs To Discuss Privacy Issues http://ktep.org/post/obama-meets-internet-ceos-discuss-privacy-issues Leaders of high-tech companies, including Google and Facebook, descended on the White House Friday for a meeting with President Obama on the subject of privacy. The meeting itself was private. But aides say Obama wanted to hear from the CEOs about their concerns with the government's high-tech surveillance.<p>High-tech CEOs are not the obvious messengers to be delivering a privacy lecture to the government. After all, they make their money by scanning customers' emails and tracking their movements, all with the goal of serving up more targeted ads. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 20:24:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 37135 at http://ktep.org Obama Meets Internet CEOs To Discuss Privacy Issues Obama Ratchets Up Sanctions Against Putin's Personal Allies http://ktep.org/post/obama-ratchets-sanctions-against-putins-personal-allies Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Robert Siegel.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>The Ukrainian government ordered its border guards to withdraw from Crimea today. Pro-Russian forces there seized more Ukrainian property, including at least two warships. We have more details on those events elsewhere in the program.<p>Meantime, in Moscow today, the foreign minister complained that ethnic Russians outside Crimea and eastern Ukraine are having their rights violated. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 20:28:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 37067 at http://ktep.org A Bittersweet Goodbye: White House Pastry Chef To Move On http://ktep.org/post/bittersweet-goodbye-white-house-pastry-chef-move The first family must be crust fallen.<p>Bill Yosses, the White House pastry chef, is moving to New York in June.<p>"Though I am incredibly sad to see Bill Yosses go, I am also so grateful to him for his outstanding work," first lady Michelle Obama said in a statement. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 23:19:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 36934 at http://ktep.org A Bittersweet Goodbye: White House Pastry Chef To Move On With Sanctions, Obama Aims For Those Close To Putin http://ktep.org/post/sanctions-obama-aims-those-close-putin The Obama administration is ordering new sanctions against 11 Russian and Ukrainian officials. The move is designed to penalize Russia for efforts to split Crimea away from Ukraine. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 20:09:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 36835 at http://ktep.org After Record Deportations, Obama May Turn To More 'Humane' Options http://ktep.org/post/after-record-deportations-obama-may-turn-more-humane-options The White House announced the president is willing to review his stance on deportations, a policy that's drawn objection from Hispanics and other groups the president depends on politically. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 36684 at http://ktep.org Republican Candidate Heats Up Colorado's U.S. Senate Race http://ktep.org/post/republican-candidate-heats-colorados-us-senate-race Colorado's Senate race is heating up with the entry of a well-regarded Republican challenger. Colorado is also the model for Democratic voter mobilization efforts in battleground states nationwide. Thu, 13 Mar 2014 09:13:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 36546 at http://ktep.org Obama Lays Groundwork For Sanctions Against Russia http://ktep.org/post/obama-lays-groundwork-sanctions-against-russia With an executive order Thursday, President Obama authorized sanctions on Russia for its involvement in Ukraine. Speaker Boehner praised the sanctions and offered congressional support going forward. Thu, 06 Mar 2014 21:16:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 36127 at http://ktep.org In Drafting A Presidential Budget, Cost May Outweigh Benefit http://ktep.org/post/drafting-presidential-budget-cost-may-outweigh-benefit On Tuesday, President Obama will unveil his budget proposal for the coming year. But for all the sound and fury surrounding the president's spending plan, it's likely to have very little significance. Congress routinely ignores the president's budget. And lawmakers have already settled on overall spending levels for the coming year.<p>That's led some to ask whether it's time to bring the curtain down on this annual exercise in political theater.<p>Members of Congress act as if they're eager to see the president's budget, and impatient when it's overdue. Sun, 02 Mar 2014 11:01:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 35814 at http://ktep.org In Drafting A Presidential Budget, Cost May Outweigh Benefit Obama To Launch Initiative To Help Young Black, Latino Men http://ktep.org/post/obama-launch-initiative-help-young-black-latino-men The program is to encourage young African American and Latino males facing a difficult environment and hard choices. The president is once again wading into turbulent racial waters. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 10:04:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 35601 at http://ktep.org After More Than A Year, Obama And Boehner Sit Down Just To Talk http://ktep.org/post/after-more-year-obama-and-boehner-sit-down-just-talk Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>It's a sign of deeply partisan times when a Democratic president and a Republican House speaker make headlines just by sitting down and talking to each other. That's what happened today in a rare hour-long meeting that aides call constructive. How constructive is not exactly clear. And while the president and House speaker agreed to work together in areas where there's common ground, that appears to be very small territory.<p>NPR White House correspondent Scott Horsley joins me now. Tue, 25 Feb 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 35503 at http://ktep.org Obama And Democratic Governors Agree: Raise Minimum Wage http://ktep.org/post/obama-and-democratic-governors-agree-raise-minimum-wage President Obama met Friday with more than a dozen Democratic governors at the White House. They emerged from the meeting declaring their united support for a higher national minimum wage. Fri, 21 Feb 2014 21:00:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 35270 at http://ktep.org Keystone Greens See Pipeline As Crucial Test For Obama http://ktep.org/post/keystone-greens-see-pipeline-crucial-test-obama Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>The controversial Keystone XL Pipeline project has another obstacle. Yesterday, a Nebraska judge rejected a move by that state's governor to route the pipeline through his state. The project has already been held up for years while the Obama administration tries to decide whether the pipeline is in the U.S. national interest. Thu, 20 Feb 2014 23:46:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 35193 at http://ktep.org 'Three Amigos' Talk Trade In Mexico http://ktep.org/post/three-amigos-talk-trade-mexico Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Robert Siegel<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>President Obama is in Mexico today, for a one-day summit meeting with his fellow North American leaders. Trade tops the agenda. And President Obama signed an executive order today designed to speed up cross-border commerce. But the president's broader trade agenda appears to be slowing in the face of stiff congressional opposition.<p>NPR's Scott Horsley joins us now. Wed, 19 Feb 2014 21:19:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 35111 at http://ktep.org CBO Predicts Job Losses From Minimum Wage Hike http://ktep.org/post/cbo-predicts-job-losses-minimum-wage-hike Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Robert Siegel.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>A new report out this afternoon poured some gasoline on the already raging debate over whether to raise the minimum wage. The report from the Congressional Budget Office says boosting the federal minimum to $10.10 an hour, as President Obama has proposed, would lift 900,000 people out of poverty. Tue, 18 Feb 2014 21:03:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 35040 at http://ktep.org Obama To See California Drought Conditions Firsthand http://ktep.org/post/obama-see-california-drought-conditions-firsthand Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>And I'm Steve Inskeep. Much of the eastern part of the country is digging out from fresh layers of snow and slush. Much of the western part of the country is not.<p>MONTAGNE: Snow pack in the Sierra Nevada mountains is less than 30 percent of what it should be this year. Fri, 14 Feb 2014 10:03:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 34782 at http://ktep.org Big Changes To Employer-Based Health Care Won't Come Easy http://ktep.org/post/big-changes-employer-based-health-care-wont-come-easy Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>And I'm Steve Inskeep.<p>Let's look for the truth behind some much discussed news about the Affordable Care Act. Congressional forecasters said last week that the law may cause fewer people to work full-time jobs.<p>MONTAGNE: Critics distorted that finding, saying the law was eliminating jobs. In truth, forecasters were mainly saying that people would leave full-time jobs that they had been keeping for the health benefits. Thu, 13 Feb 2014 10:09:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 34707 at http://ktep.org One Day After CBO Report, It's Time To Start Your Spin Cycle http://ktep.org/post/one-day-after-cbo-report-its-time-start-your-spin-cycle On Tuesday, economists with the Congressional Budget Office announced findings that indicated the new health care law may result in hundreds of thousands leaving the workforce. The findings spurred new debate on the merits of the law and its economic impact. NPR's Scott Horsley has more on the reactions to the report. Wed, 05 Feb 2014 22:29:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 34213 at http://ktep.org Deficit Shrinks, But Debate Continues To Grow http://ktep.org/post/deficit-shrinks-debate-continues-grow The federal government's deficit is shrinking quite quickly — and that may not necessarily be a good thing. As congressional forecasters lower their predictions for economic growth over the next decade, some experts are saying that gross domestic product and unemployment figures would look better, were it not for the government's rapid push to get a handle on the deficit. Tue, 04 Feb 2014 22:26:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 34142 at http://ktep.org Seahawks, Broncos Fans Mingle In D.C. Watering Hole http://ktep.org/post/seahawks-broncos-fans-mingle-dc-watering-hole Transcript <p>(SOUNDBITE OF MUSIC)<p>RACHEL MARTIN, HOST: <p>In living rooms and sports bars across the country later today, football fans -and yes, just those of us who want to watch the budget commercial and dig into nachos - will sit down to watch the Super Bowl. In Denver and Seattle living rooms, there will be less casual viewing, of course, and that goes for anywhere else that fans of the Broncos and Seahawks gather.<p>NPR's White House correspondent Scott Horsley has been spending time in one of such watering hole here in Washington, D.C. Sun, 02 Feb 2014 14:01:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 33995 at http://ktep.org