Rick Pluta http://ktep.org en Same-Sex Parenting Goes On Trial In Detroit http://ktep.org/post/same-sex-parenting-goes-trial-detroit Michigan's ban on same-sex marriage goes on trial today in Detroit, and Michigan Public Radio's Rick Pluta is there. A lesbian couple wants to settle the doubts over same-sex parenting. Tue, 25 Feb 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Rick Pluta 35511 at http://ktep.org Michigan Works To Match Dropouts With Degrees Already Earned http://ktep.org/post/michigan-works-match-dropouts-degrees-already-earned There's a nationwide search underway to find former students who don't know they've already done all or most of the work needed to earn a credential that might help them land a better-paying job.<p>In Michigan, several hundred community college dropouts were recently surprised to learn they had enough credits to qualify for an associate degree. Wed, 06 Nov 2013 22:01:00 +0000 Rick Pluta 28515 at http://ktep.org Michigan Works To Match Dropouts With Degrees Already Earned Challenge To Michigan's Gay Marriage Ban Grows From Adoption Case http://ktep.org/post/challenge-michigans-gay-marriage-ban-grows-adoption-case A federal judge in Michigan could rule as soon as Thursday on a challenge to the state's ban on same-sex marriage and civil unions. The challenge comes as the U.S. Supreme Court is set to hear two cases dealing with gay marriage later this month.<p>In the Michigan case, a lesbian couple sued not because they want to be married, but because they want to be parents.<p>Jayne Rowse and April DeBoer have been together 13 years. For all practical purposes, they consider themselves married to each other. Thu, 07 Mar 2013 08:04:00 +0000 Rick Pluta 12237 at http://ktep.org Challenge To Michigan's Gay Marriage Ban Grows From Adoption Case Mich. Gov. To Consider Concealed Pistols Bill http://ktep.org/post/mich-gov-consider-concealed-pistols-bill Rick Snyder faces a stark choice on whether to allow concealed pistols in schools. In the closing hours of its lame duck session — and the day before the Sandy Hook killing spree — Michigan's legislature approved a bill that would allow concealed pistols in places where they are currently banned. The bill has yet to be formally presented to the governor, but once it is, he has 14 days to decide what he will do. Tue, 18 Dec 2012 10:37:00 +0000 Rick Pluta 7243 at http://ktep.org Despite Protests, Michigan Is A Right-To-Work State http://ktep.org/post/despite-protests-michigan-right-work-state Michigan is now the nation's 24th right-to-work state, where unions cannot automatically collect dues or fees from workers. The governor signed the law just hours after it was approved by the state's legislature in a day marked by protests. Wed, 12 Dec 2012 11:09:00 +0000 Rick Pluta 6874 at http://ktep.org Protests Surge As 'Right To Work' Bill Passes In Mich. http://ktep.org/post/protests-surge-right-work-bill-passes-mich Michigan's House approved legislation on Tuesday that would significantly weaken union powers, as protestors gathered outside. Opponents claim it is politically motivated and hurts the average worker. Supporters say it will help attract new businesses to the state. Thousands of protestors descended on the capitol building as the vote took place. Tue, 11 Dec 2012 22:38:00 +0000 Rick Pluta 6857 at http://ktep.org Michigan Likely To Become A Right-To-Work State http://ktep.org/post/michigan-likely-become-right-work-state Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>When we think of industry in Michigan, the auto companies certainly come to mind. And with that so do the unions. And yet, Michigan could soon have a law on the books that critics see as an attack on labor. Michigan is on path to become the next so-called right to work state. The legislature there started voting on measures yesterday, just hours after the state's Republican governor endorsed the idea. Demonstrations erupted at the state capitol in Lansing and protestors remained there for much of the day. Fri, 07 Dec 2012 09:55:00 +0000 Rick Pluta 6595 at http://ktep.org Mich. Voters Defeat 2 Organized Labor Ballot Issues http://ktep.org/post/mich-voters-defeat-2-organized-labor-ballot-issues Unions poured millions of dollars into ballot campaigns to guarantee collective bargaining rights in the Michigan Constitution and allow state-paid home care assistants to organize into a union. Both were resoundingly defeated. Thu, 08 Nov 2012 10:51:00 +0000 Rick Pluta 4768 at http://ktep.org Mich. Unions Want Bargaining Added To Constitution http://ktep.org/post/mich-unions-want-bargaining-added-constitution Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From Ohio now to Michigan, where labor unions are betting big this election. They're throwing their weight behind not one, but three new ballot proposals. The most ambitious of the three would enshrine collective bargaining rights in the state's constitution. As Michigan Public Radio's Rick Pluta reports, that could reverse as many as 170 state laws that currently limit union bargaining power and fundraising.<p>RICK PLUTA, BYLINE: Emboldened by a ballot victory last year in Ohio, union leaders and Democrats in neighboring Michigan sensed an opportunity. Tue, 09 Oct 2012 20:47:00 +0000 Rick Pluta 2753 at http://ktep.org