Renee Montagne http://ktep.org en Istalif Potter Hopes Next Afghan President Will Serve The Country http://ktep.org/post/istalif-potter-hopes-next-afghan-president-will-serve-country Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>This is MORNING EDITION, from NPR News. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>And I'm Steve Inskeep.<p>Afghanistan is poised to enter a new era. For the first time in its long history, one elected president will hand over power to another. We do not know yet who that new president will be. There will likely be a runoff between the two top vote-getters next month.<p>MONTAGNE: All over Afghanistan, change is in the air, which is why on my recent trip to the country, I returned to a village called Istalif, famous for its pottery. Thu, 01 May 2014 09:17:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 39770 at http://ktep.org An Afghan Village Of Drug Addicts, From Ages 10 To 60 http://ktep.org/post/afghan-village-drug-addicts-ages-10-60 Herat is one of the most graceful cities in Afghanistan. Wed, 30 Apr 2014 07:31:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 39683 at http://ktep.org An Afghan Village Of Drug Addicts, From Ages 10 To 60 Supreme Court Rules On Race-Based College Admissions http://ktep.org/post/supreme-court-rules-race-based-college-admissions Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Steve Inskeep.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>And I'm Renee Montagne.<p>The Supreme Court this morning, upheld a ban on using racial preferences in admissions to the public universities of Michigan. The ban was enacted by referendum as an amendment to the state constitution in 2006 and struck down by a lower court. Today, the justices voted 6-to-2 to say the federal courts could not do that and the ban had to stand.<p>NPR's Nina Totenberg joins us now to talk more about this. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 16:34:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 39163 at http://ktep.org Afghanistan Is Another Dangerous Place For Journalists http://ktep.org/post/afghanistan-another-dangerous-place-journalists It was particularly difficult to report from Afghanistan during the recent presidential election because members of the Taliban were trying to disrupt the voting. They were also targeting Westerners. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 09:33:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 39062 at http://ktep.org Afghanistan Is One Step Closer To Karzai's Successor http://ktep.org/post/afghanistan-one-step-closer-karzais-successor On Saturday, voters turned out in large numbers despite threats of Taliban violence. It will take weeks to learn who will become Afghanistan's next president. Hamid Karzai can't run for a third term Mon, 07 Apr 2014 09:14:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 38159 at http://ktep.org Backroom Intrigue Persists In Afghan Presidential Election http://ktep.org/post/backroom-intrigue-persists-afghan-presidential-election Morning Edition co-host Renee Montagne is in Afghanistan following the leading candidates in Saturday's presidential election. The top-two contenders are: Zalmai Rassoul and Abdullah Abdullah. Fri, 04 Apr 2014 08:59:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 38002 at http://ktep.org To Broaden Appeal, Afghan Candidates Make Surprising Choices http://ktep.org/post/ashraf-ghani-among-leading-candidates-vying-afghan-presidency As Afghans prepare to choose a new president Saturday, it's hard not to notice a striking contradiction.<p>The three leading candidates are all urbane, Westernized men inclined to wear suits and ties in public. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 10:13:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 37926 at http://ktep.org To Broaden Appeal, Afghan Candidates Make Surprising Choices With No Karzai On Ballot, Afghans Study Presidential Candidates http://ktep.org/post/no-karzai-ballot-afghans-study-presidential-candidates Voters in Afghanistan will elect a new president this weekend. For the first time since America went to war there, President Hamid Karzai will not be on the ballot. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 09:12:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 37699 at http://ktep.org Man Finds More Than A Nest Egg At Flea Market http://ktep.org/post/man-finds-more-nest-egg-flea-market A scrap metal dealer bought a golden egg at a flea market for $14,000 and planned to melt it for a profit. But he discovered it was a Faberge egg — given by Alexander III to his empress in 1887. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 10:37:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 37028 at http://ktep.org Will Sanctions Against Russia Work? http://ktep.org/post/will-sanctions-against-russia-work In Brussels on Thursday, EU leaders will discuss stronger sanctions against Russia. Juan Zarate, a senior adviser at the Center for Strategic and International Studies, talks about their options. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 10:02:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 37025 at http://ktep.org Beyond Beans: Starbucks Seeks To Branch Out From Coffee http://ktep.org/post/beyond-beans-starbucks-seeks-branch-out-coffee Starbucks is testing an evening menu that includes wine at more than 25 locations. Now, the company's chief operating officer says it plans to offer its nighttime fare at thousands of U.S. stores. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 09:06:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 37022 at http://ktep.org Fed Signals It Won't Tap Brakes Until Job Market Improves http://ktep.org/post/fed-signals-it-wont-tap-brakes-until-job-market-improves David Wessel of the Brookings Institution talks about Janet Yellen's first policy meeting and press conference since taking over as chairwoman of the Federal Reserve. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 08:31:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 37019 at http://ktep.org South Africans Engrossed By Pistorius Trial http://ktep.org/post/pistorius-trial-sparks-conversations-about-domestic-violence-race Host Renee Montagne talks to Erin Conway-Smith, southern Africa editor for GlobalPost, about the murder trial of Olympic hero Oscar Pistorius. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 09:24:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 36878 at http://ktep.org BrusselKale: A Match Made In Heaven http://ktep.org/post/brusselkale-match-made-heaven A U.K. seed company has taken the leafy look and peppery taste of kale and added the flavor of Brussels sprouts. You can buy BrusselKale now in Ohio and Pennsylvania; it debuts nationally this fall. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 09:24:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 36881 at http://ktep.org Has Crimea Referendum Sparked A New Cold War? http://ktep.org/post/has-crimea-referendum-sparked-new-cold-war Host Renee Montagne talks with New York Times correspondent Ellen Barry in Moscow about what Vladimir Putin's land grab in Ukraine says about this moment in the post-Soviet history of Russia. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 09:24:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 36872 at http://ktep.org Young Mathematicians Hope They've Calculated Winning NCAA Bracket http://ktep.org/post/young-mathematicians-hope-theyve-calculated-winning-ncaa-bracket Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Renee Montagne. Aspiring high school mathematicians gathered in New York for March Mathness. Even for kids who don't love sports, the professor leading the event told The Times there are a billion reasons to love brackets this year: Warren Buffett's reward for picking the winners for all 67 NCAA games. The math geeks are hoping linear algebra and complex computer codes will help them beat the odds: 9.2 quintrillion to one. It's MORNING EDITION. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Mon, 17 Mar 2014 10:17:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 36808 at http://ktep.org Obama Calls For More Transparency, Privacy Protections At NSA http://ktep.org/post/obama-calls-more-transparency-privacy-protections-nsa Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Let's talk more about changes to the National Security Agency that President Obama is announcing as we speak at the Justice Department. And we're joined in our studio by Tamara Keith and Tom Gjelten. And let's just begin.<p>Tom, you told us earlier today that technology companies wanted greater transparency. They want the public to know more about what the NSA is doing. What is the president proposing today?<p>TOM GJELTEN, BYLINE: He's proposed three changes that will improve, will increase the transparency of what the NSA is doing. Fri, 17 Jan 2014 18:39:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 33043 at http://ktep.org Oscar Nods Go To 'American Hustle,' 'Gravity,' '12 Years A Slave' http://ktep.org/post/oscar-nods-go-american-hustle-gravity-12-years-slave Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Oscar nominations are in. They were announced this morning in Beverly Hills. And "American Hustle" and "Gravity" are the early front-runners. Each of them got 10 Academy Award nominations, including best picture. "12 Years a Slave" was close behind with nine nominations. For more, we're joined now by Linda Holmes, who writes and edits NPR's entertainment and pop culture blog Monkey See. Good morning.<p>LINDA HOLMES, BYLINE: Good morning to you.<p>MONTAGNE: All right. Thu, 16 Jan 2014 20:07:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 32928 at http://ktep.org Northeast Hit With Snow And Powerful Winds http://ktep.org/post/northeast-hit-snow-and-powerful-winds A very cold winter storm is engulfing much of the Northeast, dumping more than 20 inches of snow in some areas and bringing strong winds along with it. Schools are closed in Boston and New York City. Thousands of flights have been canceled. Officials around the region are asking people to stay home and let road crews do their work. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 13:06:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 32074 at http://ktep.org Violence Welcomes New Year In Parts Of Africa http://ktep.org/post/violence-welcomes-new-year-parts-africa Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>The situation in South Sudan is, in many ways, emblematic of the troubled year the continent of Africa has endured. After two decades of democracies taking root and economies growing, 2013 brought a series of seemingly intractable conflicts: flare-ups in Mali, Nigeria, the Central African Republic and, as we've just heard, South Sudan.<p>To get a sense of why this is happening now, we spoke to NPR's West Africa correspondent, Ofeibea Quist-Arcton, who shared her fears and hopes for a part of the world she holds dear. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 11:31:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 32060 at http://ktep.org Corruption Scandal Jeopardizes Turkey's Image Of Stability http://ktep.org/post/corruption-scandal-jeopardizes-turkeys-image-stability Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Turkey's government is defending itself against a corruption scandal. That scandal has shaken a nation often described as the model for moderate Islamic democracy. The scandal reaches the highest levels of the government, and has sparked a strong backlash by Turkey's ruling party.<p>We reached NPR's correspondent in Istanbul, Peter Kenyon, to learn more about what's going on.<p>PETER KENYON, BYLINE: On December 17th, police raided some very fashionable and high-rent homes, and they took away Cabinet minister's sons and they confiscated money. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 10:11:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 32058 at http://ktep.org Justice Sotomayor Blocks Part Of Birth Control Mandate http://ktep.org/post/justice-sotomayor-blocks-part-birth-control-mandate Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION, from NPR News. Good morning. I'm Renee Montagne. Last night, Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayer presided over the raucous New Year's Eve countdown in Times Square. But before that, she was working, issuing a ruling that puts into doubt part of the Obamacare health insurance law. A portion of the law was supposed to take effect today. It would offer insurance for birth control to workers in businesses affiliated with religions. Wed, 01 Jan 2014 15:27:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 31953 at http://ktep.org Mayor Bill De Blasio Takes Office In New York City http://ktep.org/post/mayor-bill-de-blasio-takes-office-new-york-city Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>New York City ushered in the New Year last night with its famous crystal ball, and also the swearing in of a new mayor. Just after midnight, Bill de Blasio was sworn into office in a private ceremony in the yard of his row house in Brooklyn. He's the first Democratic mayor in 20 years. Wed, 01 Jan 2014 10:16:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 31942 at http://ktep.org Hard-Fought Budget Deal On Its Way To The Senate http://ktep.org/post/hard-fought-budget-deal-its-way-senate The House passes the House-Senate budget compromise after Speaker John Boehner criticizes conservative groups — and implicitly their allies in Congress — for their opposition. Next stop: the Senate. Fri, 13 Dec 2013 12:52:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 30809 at http://ktep.org What The Execution Of Kim Jong Un's Uncle Means For N. Korea http://ktep.org/post/what-execution-kim-jong-uns-uncle-means-n-korea Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>This is MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm David Greene.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>And I'm Renee Montagne. We're looking this morning at two stories of international intrigue. First to North Korea. Until recently, the uncle of leader Kim Jong Un was the country's second-in-command. Earlier this week, though, he was detained on national television, hustled out of a meeting by guards.<p>North Korea's state media labeled him a corrupt, womanizing counter-revolutionary infected by capitalism. And then the government announced today he was executed. Fri, 13 Dec 2013 12:52:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 30814 at http://ktep.org 'We Are Here ... To Tell Madiba That His Long Walk Is Over' http://ktep.org/post/we-are-here-tell-madiba-his-long-walk-over Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Steve Inskeep.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>And I'm Renee Montagne.<p>In South Africa this morning, a song-filled memorial for Nelson Mandela. Here, the National Anthem.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF SOUTH AFRICAN NATIONAL ANTHEM)<p>MONTAGNE: Tens of thousands crowded into South Africa's national soccer stadium in Johannesburg in the pouring rain to pay tribute to the man who helped transform a nation - among them 100 world leaders. Tue, 10 Dec 2013 12:38:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 30573 at http://ktep.org Immigration Debate To Drag Into Next Presidential Election http://ktep.org/post/immigration-debate-will-drag-next-presidential-election It's more than likely that overhauling immigration will not happen this year. Congress has only nine working days left in 2013. And it appears, the issue will not be resolved next year either. Wed, 04 Dec 2013 10:03:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 30184 at http://ktep.org Examining Flip Side Of A Firm's Social Responsibility Record http://ktep.org/post/examining-flip-side-firms-social-responsibility-record Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>Goldman Sachs has given hundreds of millions of dollars to charity in recent years. Tue, 03 Dec 2013 10:13:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 30107 at http://ktep.org Talks On Iran's Nuclear Program Try Again For Deal http://ktep.org/post/talks-irans-nuclear-program-gear-another-round Negotiators from Iran and six world powers are back in Geneva for another round of talks on Tehran's nuclear program. There are signals that a preliminary deal over the future of Iran's nuclear program may finally be within in reach. Wed, 20 Nov 2013 11:08:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 29388 at http://ktep.org JPMorgan, DOJ Expected To Settle Over Mortgage Abuses http://ktep.org/post/jpmorgan-expected-pay-4-mortgage-borrowers The Justice Department is said to be announcing on Tuesday a $13 billion settlement with JPMorgan Chase. The deal centers on mortgage securities issued in the run-up to the financial crisis. Tue, 19 Nov 2013 09:23:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 29311 at http://ktep.org