Emily Harris http://ktep.org en Israel's Ultra-Orthodox Put Faith In Unorthodox Dating Service http://ktep.org/post/israels-ultra-orthodox-put-faith-unorthodox-dating-service Yael Mizrachi, a 33-year-old Israeli woman, has been to many matchmakers.<p>"Too many," she says, rolling her wide dark eyes and tossing her shoulder-length hair.<p>Matchmakers are the traditional way to find a mate in the ultra-Orthodox Jewish community to which Mizrachi belongs. But she is not entirely traditional.<p>"I identify myself as a modern ultra-Orthodox," Mizrachi says.<p>Mizrachi is part of a growing number of ultra-Orthodox Jews in Israel who are seeking job skills, getting higher education or joining the military. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 22:16:00 +0000 Emily Harris 38806 at http://ktep.org Israel's Ultra-Orthodox Put Faith In Unorthodox Dating Service Ukrainians Disagree Over Sniper Inquiry http://ktep.org/post/ukrainians-disagree-over-sniper-inquiry A Ukrainian police medic and a protester differ over whether their country should probe who committed crimes during February's violence in Kiev. Fri, 04 Apr 2014 10:36:00 +0000 Emily Harris 38011 at http://ktep.org Two Israeli Settlers Speak Of Life — And Plans — On Disputed Land http://ktep.org/post/two-israeli-settlers-speak-life-and-plans-disputed-land From the Palestinian perspective, a big obstacle to peace is the presence of 350,000 Israelis on land expected to be part of any future Palestinian state. Two of those settlers offer their viewpoints. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 20:02:00 +0000 Emily Harris 37976 at http://ktep.org Stay Or Go: How Israeli-Palestinian Peace Would Redefine Home http://ktep.org/post/stay-or-go-how-israeli-palestinian-peace-would-redefine-home More than 1 million Arabs are citizens of Israel. And over the years, some 350,000 Jewish Israelis have moved to settlements in the West Bank. If the Israelis and Palestinians were to make peace and set a formal border, what would happen to all these people?<p>The vast majority of Arab Israelis are Palestinian. Most belong to families that either stayed in their homes during the war following Israel's 1948 declaration of independence or fled to areas that wound up on the western, or Israeli side, of the cease-fire line. They hold Israeli passports and enjoy the rights of citizenship. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 19:09:00 +0000 Emily Harris 37966 at http://ktep.org Stay Or Go: How Israeli-Palestinian Peace Would Redefine Home Arabs In Israel Contemplate Borders Of Palestinian State http://ktep.org/post/arabs-israel-contemplate-borders-palestinian-state Mideast peace talks pushed by the U.S. could include a borderline that leaves some Arabs, who are in Israel as part of a minority of non-Jewish Israeli citizens, into a new Palestinian state. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 10:05:00 +0000 Emily Harris 37927 at http://ktep.org Israeli Prisoner Release Steps Toward Peace And Draws Controversy http://ktep.org/post/israeli-prisoner-release-steps-toward-peace-and-draws-controversy Israel is preparing a prisoner release as part of the peace process with Palestinians. Arab citizens of Israel are set to be let go, a move more controversial than releasing non-citizen Palestinians. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 20:05:00 +0000 Emily Harris 37515 at http://ktep.org In A 'Brilliant' Move, Hamas Puts A Woman Out Front http://ktep.org/post/brilliant-move-hamas-puts-woman-out-front Isra al-Modallal is the first woman to be the public face of Hamas, the conservative group that rules the Palestinian territory. "Brilliant" is how one Gaza observer describes the decision. Sat, 22 Mar 2014 11:50:00 +0000 Emily Harris 37176 at http://ktep.org Political Split In Ukraine Divides Families http://ktep.org/post/political-split-ukraine-divides-families One couple has survived many political changes over their 47-year marriage, but the current political crisis in Ukraine is dividing them too. Thu, 13 Mar 2014 09:11:00 +0000 Emily Harris 36552 at http://ktep.org U.S. Still Exploring Diplomatic Ways To End Crimea Standoff http://ktep.org/post/us-still-exploring-diplomatic-ways-end-crimea-standoff Ukraine's prime minister travels to Washington this week for talks with President Obama. On Sunday, leaders of Germany and Great Britain spent time on the phone with Russian President Vladimir Putin. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 09:00:00 +0000 Emily Harris 36323 at http://ktep.org Russian Troops Continue Movements In Crimea http://ktep.org/post/russian-troops-continue-movements-crimea As the standoff continues in Crimea, Russia warns the U.S. against "hasty" sanctions. Ukraine officials accuse pro-Russian forces of armed aggression. Sun, 09 Mar 2014 11:59:00 +0000 Emily Harris 36287 at http://ktep.org Locals Join Crimean Defense Forces, Allied With Russia http://ktep.org/post/locals-join-crimean-defense-forces-allied-russia In Ukraine, tensions are high in the Crimean Peninsula. NPR's Emily Harris reports on the swearing in of new members to the Crimean defense force. Sat, 08 Mar 2014 22:51:00 +0000 Emily Harris 36271 at http://ktep.org In Kharkiv, A Snapshot Of Ukraine's Tumult And Hope http://ktep.org/post/kharkiv-snapshot-ukraines-tumult-and-hope In Ukraine's second largest city, Kharkiv, both pro-Europe and pro-Russian groups are planning more rallies this weekend. Some residents fear civil war; others believe compromise is still possible. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 21:03:00 +0000 Emily Harris 36209 at http://ktep.org Crisis With Russia Propels Ukrainian Nationalism http://ktep.org/post/crisis-russia-propels-ukrainian-nationalism During Ukraine's recent revolution, ultra nationalist groups were prominent among the protesters battling police in Kiev's Maidan Square. A nationalist party was included in the interim government. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 11:24:00 +0000 Emily Harris 36168 at http://ktep.org With Little Money And Lots Of Verve, Kiev Reporter Fights Corruption http://ktep.org/post/little-money-and-lots-verve-kiev-reporter-fights-corruption Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>Secretary of State John Kerry made a high profile visit to Kiev today, showing political support for Ukraine's new government. He promised a billion dollars in loan guarantees. With lesser due, a team from the International Monetary Fund arrived. They're there to assess the state of Ukraine's finances.<p>Well, chief among the country's many economic difficulties is the problem of rampant corruption. An investigative journalist is now set to lead Ukraine's new anti-corruption agency. Tue, 04 Mar 2014 21:37:00 +0000 Emily Harris 35985 at http://ktep.org Western Diplomats Visit Kiev, Bringing Few Answers With Them http://ktep.org/post/western-diplomats-visit-kiev-bringing-few-answers-them Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish. We begin this hour in Ukraine where Russian troops took control of more areas in Crimea today, including a ferry terminal between the Ukrainian peninsula and Russia. Western countries are strategizing a response to the crisis with many meetings and several high level visits to Ukraine. Mon, 03 Mar 2014 21:23:00 +0000 Emily Harris 35907 at http://ktep.org Is Ukraine's Army Prepared For A War With Russia? http://ktep.org/post/ukraines-army-prepared-war-russia Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>And let's get an update now on that tense situation in Ukraine. Russia has been gaining more control of the Crimean peninsula. Russia reportedly has some 6,000 troops there after President Vladimir Putin got authorization for military action over the weekend. And this could be just the beginning. Ukrainian border guards say armored vehicles are gathering on the Russian side of a narrow strait across from Crimea. The U.S. and other Western powers condemned Russia's moves, and are signaling they might not attend an economic meeting in Russia this summer. Mon, 03 Mar 2014 10:17:00 +0000 Emily Harris 35857 at http://ktep.org A Greek Treasure Pulled From The Sea Disappears Again In Gaza http://ktep.org/post/greek-treasure-pulled-sea-disappears-again-gaza On a sunny Friday in August last year, Judah Abughorab paddled a small, flat boat over the blue Mediterranean Sea about 100 yards off the Gaza Strip's sandy shore.<p>He doesn't really like to eat fish, but catching them is the unemployed construction worker's favorite pastime.<p>That day, he netted a half a dozen. Then, through the clear water, he spotted something that made him look again.<p>"It looked like a person," he says. "Eyes, a face, hands, fingers."<p>Abughorab says he was scared, but dived 5 yards down to have a closer look. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 21:44:00 +0000 Emily Harris 35668 at http://ktep.org A Greek Treasure Pulled From The Sea Disappears Again In Gaza Abbas Tells Students 'Peace Has To Happen' http://ktep.org/post/abbas-tells-students-peace-has-happen Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>The West Bank city of Ramallah is normally off-limits to Israelis by Israeli law. But yesterday, 300 Israeli college students and other young leaders, with special permission from the military, traveled to Ramallah to hear Palestinian leader Mahmoud Abbas speak. Mon, 17 Feb 2014 10:28:00 +0000 Emily Harris 34951 at http://ktep.org Building Pressure May Mean Progress In Israeli Peace Talks http://ktep.org/post/building-pressure-may-mean-progress-israeli-peace-talks Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>There is a fake John Kerry wandering around Jerusalem these days. He stars in several satirical videos criticizing the U.S. effort to negotiate a peace agreement between Israeli and Palestinian leaders. The State Department suggests it is just the latest sign that Kerry has put real pressure on Israel to move toward a peace deal. NPR's Emily Harris reports.<p>EMILY HARRIS, BYLINE: John Kerry, the satire star, is skinny with a big poof of grey hair. The theme of the videos, he doesn't understand the conflict he's trying to solve. Mon, 10 Feb 2014 22:13:00 +0000 Emily Harris 34534 at http://ktep.org Even Among Their Own, Consensus Eludes Israelis And Palestinians http://ktep.org/post/even-among-their-own-consensus-eludes-israelis-and-palestinians Disputes between Palestinians and Israelis are a constant in their decades-old conflict, and that's what the wider world usually hears about.<p>But there are also near constant internal disagreements among Israelis. And Palestinians have divergent views too. Wed, 05 Feb 2014 21:29:00 +0000 Emily Harris 34219 at http://ktep.org Even Among Their Own, Consensus Eludes Israelis And Palestinians Jordan Valley's Future At Stake In Mideast Peace Talks http://ktep.org/post/jordan-valleys-future-stake-mideast-peace-talks Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>The River Jordan - where we're going next - is the dividing line between Jordan to the east, and the Israeli-occupied areas to the west. When you hear that heavily Palestinian zone called the West Bank, that's what it means: the West Bank of the Jordan. Its future is at stake in peace negotiations. Israelis see the River Valley as a vital security zone. Wed, 05 Feb 2014 10:11:00 +0000 Emily Harris 34168 at http://ktep.org Scarlett Johansson's Middle East Flap ... Over Soda http://ktep.org/post/scarlett-johanssons-middle-east-flap-over-soda <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zxq4ziu-wrI</p> Thu, 30 Jan 2014 21:28:00 +0000 Emily Harris 33829 at http://ktep.org Scarlett Johansson's Middle East Flap ... Over Soda A Palestinian Explains Why He Worked As An Israeli Informant http://ktep.org/post/palestinian-explains-why-he-worked-israeli-informant It took four years in a prison cell for Palestinian Abdel Hamid el-Rajoub to decide to work as an Israeli informant. Not that he ever planned it that way. Rajoub is in his 60s now. He grew up in a Palestinian village near Hebron, in the Israeli-occupied West Bank. He says he was 19, an emotional young man, when he got involved in fighting Israel.<p>"It was my right," he says, "to fight Israel and the occupation."<p>Rajoub looked up to an older brother, who he says was part of the military branch of the Palestinian political group Fatah and was killed by Israeli soldiers. Wed, 29 Jan 2014 22:30:00 +0000 Emily Harris 33763 at http://ktep.org A Palestinian Explains Why He Worked As An Israeli Informant In Israeli Prison, An Elaborate Theater Of Interrogation http://ktep.org/post/israeli-prison-elaborate-theater-interrogation Ala'a Miqbel phoned his wife and his boss on the morning of Aug. 26 last year, just to say he was almost at the Erez crossing. That's the checkpoint between the Gaza Strip, where Miqbel lives, and Israel.<p>The U.S. Consulate had invited Miqbel to attend a conference in the West Bank. Although he'd been to Ramallah for work several years ago, Israeli security wanted to interview him before granting a travel permit this time.<p>Before the day was over, Miqbel would be in Israeli prison. Tue, 28 Jan 2014 21:41:00 +0000 Emily Harris 33688 at http://ktep.org In Israeli Prison, An Elaborate Theater Of Interrogation Palestinian Herders Pick Up The Pieces After Homes Destroyed http://ktep.org/post/palestinian-herders-pick-pieces-after-homes-destroyed <em>NPR's Emily Harris sent this postcard after visiting a community of Palestinian herders whose camp was demolished for being in a closed Israeli military zone.</em><p>It's about 20 minutes by four-wheel drive up a rocky canyon to Khirbet 'Ein Karzaliyah, a near-barren plain with a small spring. A handful of families live here, including more than a dozen children and over 700 sheep and goats.<p>Meshchas Bne Menneh unzips the door to her home, a large tent on a sturdy square frame. She flicks on a battery-powered lamp and lights a propane burner for tea. Tue, 21 Jan 2014 11:06:00 +0000 Emily Harris 33181 at http://ktep.org Palestinian Herders Pick Up The Pieces After Homes Destroyed Palestinian Leaders Defied Villagers' Fury In Protecting Israelis http://ktep.org/post/unusual-twist-recent-west-bank-clash In the Israeli-occupied West Bank, incidents between Jewish settlers and Palestinians happen almost every day. Olive trees and grapevines are destroyed, tires are slashed, mosques are defaced. It's not just property destruction. Thu, 16 Jan 2014 23:48:00 +0000 Emily Harris 32956 at http://ktep.org Palestinian Leaders Defied Villagers' Fury In Protecting Israelis Former Israeli Prime Minister Ariel Sharon Remembered http://ktep.org/post/former-israeli-prime-minister-ariel-sharon-remembered Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>And let's get the latest now from Israel, where former Israeli Prime Minister Ariel Sharon will be buried today. Sharon died Saturday, after spending eight years in a coma. Here's NPR's Emily Harris.<p>EMILY HARRIS, BYLINE: The memorial service for Ariel Sharon opened with a prayer.<p>UNIDENTIFIED MAN #1: (Singing in foreign language)<p>HARRIS: Israel's political elite and foreign dignitaries, including Vice President Joe Biden, sat near Sharon's coffin, which was draped in the white and blue colors of the Israeli flag outside Israel's parliament. Mon, 13 Jan 2014 10:29:00 +0000 Emily Harris 32656 at http://ktep.org Kerry Leaves Jerusalem Without Much Progress On Peace Deal http://ktep.org/post/kerry-leaves-jerusalem-without-much-progress-peace-deal Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>This is MORNING EDITION from NPR News. Good morning. I'm David Greene. Secretary of State John Kerry spent much of last week in the Mideast, where he tried to push Israeli and Palestinian leaders towards a peace agreement. Yesterday he flew to Saudi Arabia and Jordan to update the monarchs of those countries on the progress of the talks. Mon, 06 Jan 2014 11:39:00 +0000 Emily Harris 32204 at http://ktep.org What Israel's Release Of Palestinian Prisoners Means For Peace http://ktep.org/post/what-israels-release-palestinian-prisoners-means-peace On Tuesday, Israel released another two-dozen Palestinian prisoners convicted of violent crimes against Israelis.<p>It's the third of four groups to be released before their sentences are up, part of a confidence-building deal that helped restart peace negotiations in July.<p>Palestinian Omar Masoud was a prisoner freed in one of the previous releases. He says that when he agreed to kill an Israeli working in the Gaza Strip, he expected consequences.<p>"I knew I would go to prison, or get killed and become a martyr, or I'd have to run away abroad," Masoud says. Tue, 31 Dec 2013 08:31:00 +0000 Emily Harris 31857 at http://ktep.org What Israel's Release Of Palestinian Prisoners Means For Peace What It Costs To Cover Your Noggin In Jerusalem http://ktep.org/post/what-it-costs-cover-your-noggin-jerusalem <em>Just how far does a dollar go? We'll try to answer that question as part of an occasional series on what things cost around the world. In this installment, NPR's Emily Harris looks at the price of headwear in Jerusalem.</em><p>In Israel and the Palestinian territories, headgear is big business. How much does it cost to cover up for different religions, traditions and fashions?<p>Orthodox and religious Jews cover their heads to show respect toward God. Sat, 28 Dec 2013 20:29:00 +0000 Emily Harris 31744 at http://ktep.org What It Costs To Cover Your Noggin In Jerusalem