Oliver Wang http://ktep.org en Gimme The Beat (Box): The Journey Of The Drum Machine http://ktep.org/post/gimme-beat-box-journey-drum-machine About 10 years ago, a disgruntled pianist in Los Angeles named John Wood began a popular bumper sticker campaign with the slogan, "Drum Machines Have No Soul." Not everyone was convinced, including producer Eric Sadler.<p>"Drum machines don't run themselves," Sadler says. "It's the people who put into the drum machines that give the drum machines soul, to me. Fri, 17 Jan 2014 05:02:00 +0000 Oliver Wang 32963 at http://ktep.org Gimme The Beat (Box): The Journey Of The Drum Machine 20 Years Ago, De La Soul Refused To Go Pop http://ktep.org/post/20-years-ago-de-la-soul-refused-go-pop <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1B1-naHt1aA</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FJEzEDMqXQQ</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-r774KpYtso</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Svw1b--jKCE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=udSjNOZ26o8</p> Mon, 30 Dec 2013 05:03:00 +0000 Oliver Wang 31789 at http://ktep.org 20 Years Ago, De La Soul Refused To Go Pop Kanye's 'Yeezus' Packs A Bite http://ktep.org/post/kanyes-yeezus-packs-bite <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xuhl6Ji5zHM</p> Tue, 18 Jun 2013 17:04:00 +0000 Oliver Wang 19192 at http://ktep.org Kanye's 'Yeezus' Packs A Bite Shuggie Otis: 40 Years Later, Still An 'Inspiration' http://ktep.org/post/shuggie-otis-40-years-later-still-inspiration This isn't the first time Shuggie Otis' masterpiece, <em>Inspiration Information</em>,<em> </em>has been reissued — but that's OK. It's an album that absolutely deserves to be rediscovered every decade or so.<p>Released nearly 40 years ago, the album became Otis' most acclaimed work, and also his last official release: Otis continued to work and play with other musicians, but a follow-up album has never materialized. Tue, 04 Jun 2013 20:52:00 +0000 Oliver Wang 18245 at http://ktep.org Shuggie Otis: 40 Years Later, Still An 'Inspiration' 20 Years Ago Biz Markie Got The Last Laugh http://ktep.org/post/20-years-ago-biz-markie-got-last-laugh <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OebqNsNRBtU</p> Mon, 06 May 2013 16:59:00 +0000 Oliver Wang 16243 at http://ktep.org 20 Years Ago Biz Markie Got The Last Laugh Lady: Two Soul Stalwarts Find A New Groove Together http://ktep.org/post/lady-two-soul-stalwarts-find-new-groove-together R&B singers Nicole Wray and Terri Walker both had promising starts to their careers more than ten years ago. Wray came up on the Virginia coast under the wing of mentor <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15622987/missy-elliott" target="_blank">Missy Elliott</a>. Walker, a Londoner, was classically trained yet released her debut on a Def Jam subsidiary. Both enjoyed early critical success but by decade's end struggled to find a wide audience. Thu, 14 Mar 2013 22:49:00 +0000 Oliver Wang 12767 at http://ktep.org Lady: Two Soul Stalwarts Find A New Groove Together The Kids Of PS22 Take On Tame Impala http://ktep.org/post/kids-ps22-take-tame-impala <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3GPGiJCzSK4</p> Tue, 08 Jan 2013 17:03:00 +0000 Oliver Wang 8432 at http://ktep.org The Kids Of PS22 Take On Tame Impala Saviors Of Local Soul: The Archival Science Of The Numero Group http://ktep.org/post/saviors-local-soul-archival-science-numero-group <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qw5HgdHhNhk</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8rPg7TVTOfY</p> Tue, 04 Dec 2012 19:12:00 +0000 Oliver Wang 6411 at http://ktep.org Saviors Of Local Soul: The Archival Science Of The Numero Group Bill Withers: The Everyman Singer With A Poet's Soul http://ktep.org/post/bill-withers-everyman-singer-poets-soul <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15399132/bill-withers">Bill Withers</a><em>' very first single became a breakout hit in 1971. He would go on to record nine albums over the next 14 years, and all of them are now available on a new box set, </em>The Complete Sussex and Columbia Masters.<p>It may sound contradictory to describe Bill Withers' voice as "uniquely plainspoken," but this singer and songwriter from West Virginia coal country began his career at the crossroads between folk, R&B and rock. He was neither a showy shouter nor a sweet crooner. Mon, 19 Nov 2012 19:14:00 +0000 Oliver Wang 5533 at http://ktep.org Bill Withers: The Everyman Singer With A Poet's Soul The Purple Tape: Only Built 4 Collectors http://ktep.org/post/purple-tape-only-built-4-collectors <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=15229570" target="_blank">The Beatles</a> had "The White Album." <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=15394157" target="_blank">Prince</a>'s long-time work-in-progress became dubbed "The Black Album." Rapper Raekwon had "The Purple Tape," one the most storied cassettes in hip-hop history.<p>The Purple Tape refers to purple-tinted cassette pressings of Raekwon's 1995 solo debut, <em>Only Built 4 Cuban Linx... Thu, 20 Sep 2012 15:00:00 +0000 Oliver Wang 1564 at http://ktep.org The Purple Tape: Only Built 4 Collectors Two Attempts To Turn Summer Platinum Into Fall Gold http://ktep.org/post/two-attempts-turn-summer-platinum-fall-gold <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fWNaR-rxAic</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Dqgr0wNyPo</p> Tue, 18 Sep 2012 18:58:00 +0000 Oliver Wang 1413 at http://ktep.org Two Attempts To Turn Summer Platinum Into Fall Gold